Motivation logo

Things 2020 Has Taught Me

Looking for Rainbows!

By Steven RicePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6

2020 has been a year full of challenges. Honestly, it has felt like we are all playing a video game that no one has played before and we skipped the instructions. Plus, we selected the hardest level available. It has been one gut punch after another. I kept finding myself asking ”when will this get better”? However, I am still trying to see the light at the end of the tunnel. With all the rain and storms, there has to be a few rainbows in the mix. Yes, 2020 had pushed my mental stability to the limit, but there was some time for me to grow. So, I present to you, Things 2020 Has Taught Me.

Your Support System is Key

With all the drama 2020 has brought to us, we have needed support like no other this year. Friends, family, and loved ones have played a crucial part in my 2020 journey. My birthday was in March, right when the pandemic became more of a threat, and quarantine began. Lucky for me, my husband was in another state for a temporary work assignment. No one wants to spend their birthday alone! Yes, we did talk on the phone and he wished me a happy birthday, so that was one part of my support system coming through for me. Nevertheless, I felt I needed to find extra support since I was still alone. So, a FaceTime date with one of my best friends was a must. We caught each other up on life while sipping on some wine and hard cider. This happened often during the quarantine. I reached out to my support system several times and it made 2020 seem doable. Look, we do not have to go at things alone, keeping the ones you hold near and dear to your heart will help you so much along the way.

Keep Your Therapist on Speed Dial

When it comes to finding support, loved ones are key elements, however, I still need some professional support. Living with clinical depression and anxiety, a therapist has been a great benefactor in 2020. My sessions have had a bit of a spike this year. Again, we do not have to do this alone. My therapist provided me with some great exercises to help calm me down. Am I saying you need to drop everything to find a therapist if you do not have one, no, but I do highly recommend it! I get it, therapy might not be for you, but for Steven Rice, it is a must.

Get Creative Af

Going back to March, I took a big leap into doing something I have wanted to do for quite some time. I started a podcast! Sunshine Steven is a podcast stocked full of positivity. The podcast has allowed me to talk to some amazing people about some amazing topics. From leadership to horror movies, it has provided me so many laughs. It seems that my husband wanted in on the fun, so we started a darker toned show called Murder Mondays. Murder Mondays is a true-crime podcast where we take turns discussing real-life murders. Both podcast shows have provided me with a creative outlet and I am truly grateful for that. So I encourage you to get creative, you never know what you will become passionate about.

Take Time for Yourself

You should take time for yourself every year, not just in 2020. As much as we love having the support of others, sometimes we just need time for ourselves. I admit I will ignore phone calls or text so that I can put on a face mask and read a book. This behavior is okay! You must take care of yourself first. Meditation time, a Netflix binge, reading, napping, or just scrolling through TikTok has all been some favorite pastimes this year. Self-care should be a top priority for us all. We need time to block the world out and ensure that we are doing okay. I promise you this is not a selfish act, everyone should practice taking time for themselves. I believe by doing so, you can recharge and take on another day.

Yes, 2020 has been tough. However, you can be tougher. Hopefully, you have gained something from this article and I truly hope your 2020 experience has not been such a crummy one. I challenge you to make a list of what you have learned this year. Look for the rainbows!

self help
6

About the Creator

Steven Rice

Growing up I had many visions of what I wanted to be when I grew up. At times I was relentless on becoming a Power Ranger or a writer. After thirty years, the path that seems most obtainable is becoming a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.