Motivation logo

The Two Basic Questions You Should Ask Yourself Before Making Your New Year Resolutions!

New year, new energy, and new initiatives

By NAVNEET DHILLONPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Two Basic Questions You Should Ask Yourself Before Making Your New Year Resolutions!
Photo by Radu Marcusu on Unsplash

Hello, 2022 and my vocal readers!

I hope this year has been a great start for you all!

Amid new year resolutions that we all tend to make at the beginning of each year in order to change our lives magically throughout the year: I was thinking about asking myself these questions before setting any goals for the year and I want you to do the same!

The first and foremost thing I want to ask myself is, "What I am craving to learn more about this year and ready to give all my time and energy to it?"

The answer is simple for me- Be more creative and write more and more. I am going to write more and every day until the ideas in my head get more clearer and I gain confidence about it and until writing becomes my utmost strength.

Writing helps me to calm up my mind. When I put up my thoughts on a paper it gives a sense of clarity about life and my mindset. When I am doing nothing, I always write in my journal about each and everything going on in my mind at that point in time like my continuous running thoughts, flashing memories, or sometimes just the present moment. Like I want to write one just now.

For the last two days, I've been sitting in my bed at my home doing absolutely nothing. The weather outside is chilly. It's been raining outside for consecutive three days. And while I am sitting here and writing this; a little smirk is on my face remembering my grade seventh book sentence which was kind of a quote then, "The east wind was cutting like a knife." This sentence suddenly came into my mind while I was trying to get my shoes from the backyard and a very strong wind was blowing, which literally seemed to cut my cheeks like a knife. The reason for my smile here is that as I am from India and I grew up in a Punjabi household, so English is not my first language. Punjabi is. So, I learned reading, writing, and speaking English in my local school. So, this East wind sentence was kinda very new and amazingly different for us then. Even to this day we sarcastically repeat this sentence a lot of times to describe the wind situation and laugh about it.

I sleep with my grandmother in my room. My grandmother sleeps mostly at 8 p.m. and I sit in this empty silence of night scrolling through all the social media on my phone, diving deep into the ocean of my thoughts with my one hand continuously touching my hair and keep sliding through them. And yet every night I think of so many great possibilities that life could offer me if I just start to put some little effort in myself by allowing myself to actually put up my ideas out there and to write more.

There is something for all of us that we always think about doing but never put enough effort to even start it and take it to another level. So, think about that exact thing this year and start putting your efforts into it.

2. The second question is how might we go about it?

Well, there are enormous options to learn about writing techniques. You could take an online class, read books about it or join a mentor.

The first and foremost thing I am going to do more this year is reading more books to enhance my knowledge, to broader my point of view, and to get a fresh perspective on things around me. Secondly, joining an online course provides an impressive mentorship which helps us to get ahead in our respective courses and fields.

What are your new year's resolutions and what are you going to do about them? Let me know.

Drop a heart and subscribe if you like my article. It would be great for my little writing initiative this year.

advice
Like

About the Creator

NAVNEET DHILLON

INQUISITIVE , EXPLORING LIFE AND NEW POSSIBILITIES BEING A WRITER.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.