Motivation logo

The Struggle of Worthiness

You vs You

By J BPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Laying down on my yoga mat at the end of my exercise class, we spend five minutes meditating and reflecting. A phrase they share often is "You deserve this moment of peace." This is meant to be a soothing finish to a difficult workout, but it often derails me. Each time my mind starts to wander.

Why do I deserve this moment?

Because I am able to pay for it?

Because I have kids?

What qualifies me to actually DESERVE it?

I can tell you what I believe I deserve, and it's quite a few steps down from lying on a mat on the ground. There are millions of other things I could be doing. Things that could benefit others. Things that would be less selfish or entitled. There are millions of PEOPLE who deserve it more than me. Yet here I lay, and I have trouble believing I belong here more than anyone or anywhere else.

And before you know it, the class is over and my meditative moment was used degrading myself mentally.

I struggle a lot with self-sabotage. It's kind of my thing. —hair flip— However, I really would love to enjoy that small moment as I assume the other women in the room are. So this time I decided to go home and write a list of reasons I DO deserve it.

It did not come out how I imagined it would. I thought maybe I would write about how many errands I run or how many chores I do. But when I started writing something different came out. I looked up from my paper after my last line and said out loud: "That. Is. Fucking. Profound."

Breakthrough!

I have tried it all. Mediation. Yoga. Hot bubble baths. Affirmations. Taking mental health days. Etc. Everything felt so self-indulgent and gross with my mindset that I was undeserving and I could not talk myself out of that mindset with logical, tangible things. But this time something just clicked.

This little list has begun to change my entire self-deprecating mindset and in turn change my life. Little by little. I thought I would share in hope to inspire a breakthrough for someone else.

I started my list with a mantra I don't quite believe yet, but someday hope to:

I am a good person.

I love and approve of myself.

I forgive my mistakes and take them as lessons.

Then I tried to only write things I truly believed about myself:

I appreciate the beauty in nature.

I celebrate the good in others.

I have consistent good intentions.

I aspire to learn and grow.

I respect my emotions and allow myself to express them.

I am a child of this Earth.

All of Earth's creatures deserve love.

I am inspired by the joy in others.

Others can see light in me.

I encourage others to think positively.

I trust that I am on the right path.

I put energy into things that matter to me.

I am becoming closer to my true self every day.

I am learning valuable lessons everyday.

I am on a difficult journey with no destination.

I am making a difference in this world SIMPLY BY EXISTING IN IT.

That last line really hit me. I may have heard it before, but this time it hit just right. I am not a bystander of this world, as I sometimes feel. I am an active participant and I can choose to make my interactions positive or negative. I can't sit this one out; it's not actually possible.

The more vulnerable I make myself in this world, the more at home I feel in it. Let's all heal together.

self help
Like

About the Creator

J B

Stay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.