Motivation logo

“The story that changed everything — how a simple story destroyed a chocolate doll and made me a writer”

“Write your thoughts in people’s hearts, not in the water” Marcus Aurelius.

By Asdrubal aka LittleAsdruPublished about a year ago 9 min read

“My adventure as a writer began at the age of seven when I excitedly showed my mother my first story in which a chocolate doll melts on the beach. The story caused a sensation at my school and the teachers even told my mother about it. From that moment on, my mother became my mentor, inspiring and guiding me in my love of writing. That first story embedded itself in my being and has never left me, and you will soon find out why it continues to haunt me.”

Writing for me at the age of seven was the most exciting task that set my creative capacity in motion. It was like discovering a new harbour, when my boat at that time was sailing in the ocean. From that day on, something changed inside me and I felt an imperious need to transmit everything I felt through letters. Being able to string together words that bore the stamp of my thoughts was something magical for me.

The need to write became a constant in my life. Even after lying in bed, I have felt that urge to get up and write some more, just because someone told me how much they enjoyed my last article. That need to share what’s inside me is part of my being and has led me to explore different genres and styles of writing, always looking for new ways to express myself.

Personal development is where I feel most comfortable, perhaps because it is where part of my essence is born. My soul has struggled on many occasions to find something to take refuge in, as the world I lived in did not make me feel very good. I have always been easy prey to indiscipline, supremacy and ego, and at many times in my life I felt like a snake charmer, a charismatic leader, but with a cloudy soul, lacking clarity and awareness. Now I am attracted to the ability to improve because I know that discipline is actually the path to success.

When you are young, or at least in my case, you try to find in indiscipline, in fun and in constant distraction that channel of communication with your other self, that which speaks to you in solitude, that which transmits peace and not anguish, that which does not ask questions because it only has answers, that self that lives in each one of us, that which we spend half our lives searching for but which is closer than we imagine.

When you live in a hurry, as I have done for many years, in search of what you think is freedom when in reality you live as a prisoner of your own thoughts, you don’t observe, you don’t listen, you don’t feel, you don’t suffer, all that matters is the constant and immediate dopamine, without work, without effort. Enjoyment for the sake of enjoyment, without looking for the meaning of life.

As Viktor Frankl said in the book “Man’s Search for Meaning”.

“Man does not live solely for pleasure, nor for the pursuit of power or wealth, but his existence has a higher purpose, linked to the search for and realisation of values and meaning in life”

We truly have the ability to inspire, excite, awaken smiles and captivate minds with our words, whether represented on paper, in a book, on a stage, on wood, on stones, on walls, in online publications.

In addition, reading and writing are powerful tools that connect countless channels and neurons in our minds, which can regenerate them and prevent diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease. It allows us to explore new ideas, cultures, emotions and perspectives of the world around us, which can expand our minds and enrich our lives in ways we could never have imagined.

From an early age, my passion for writing became evident. But in my teens, like many others, I became distracted by seeking easy rewards and instant gratification. I didn’t care about the speed with which something struck my brain, I just wanted to feel the momentary pleasure. Now, however, I care about understanding the stories behind the gods, like Zeus, or the life of the emperor Marcus Aurelius. Why would they choose the harder path rather than the easier one?

Today, I have rediscovered the value of that passion and wake up every morning eager to write some more. I still fondly remember the excitement I felt when I wrote a love letter to a girl in my teenage years, and how I used all my wit and skills to conquer her heart. Writing allows me to express my ideas and emotions without fear, as if protected by an invisible shield. Unlike the stage fright I feel when speaking in public, when I write I feel in my element, in my comfort zone, even though I know that not everyone will like what I write.

His presence in the classroom did not attract much attention, but his way of teaching was unique. He didn’t just dictate the lesson of the day, he made us feel part of it. He challenged us to think and express ourselves freely, he made us feel important and valued. I remember that every time someone made a mistake, she saw it as an opportunity to learn and improve ourselves. Years later, I understood that her pedagogical approach was very innovative for her time and I am grateful to have been one of her students.

It is impressive how a simple repetition exercise can be so effective in improving skills such as writing. And constant practice is the key to any learning. It is possible that Miss Isabel knew this and that is why she made us repeat over and over again the sentence in which we had made a spelling mistake. Although it may seem tedious at first, over time you get better and better at it, and so I did.trying to improve my handwriting and give it more style. Those little things may seem insignificant, but they can make a big difference in the long run.

On one occasion, someone, I can’t remember which year it was, asked me why I was going round and round on the “o”, the “d” and the “p”. I know now that I was just trying to improve my handwriting and have legible handwriting. Although I wasn’t excellent, I always excelled in my writing and dictation. I loved writing, but I always worried about my handwriting. In fact, it still worries me so much that in my journals I write in capital letters so that I can understand myself better when I revise.

It worried me to see how there were girls in my 7th grade class, like Carmen, a “ten” girl in every sense of the word. I, like half the class, was in love with her. She was a girl who did not take long to develop all the elements that stand out in a woman, but we boys are slower at that. Carmen had a special handwriting, clear and legible, I would say she was the best handwriting in the class. I, deluded, wanted to have her handwriting. That was a real concern for me at the age of 12, as I didn’t like maths, but that girl’s handwriting was a beauty for all my senses.

Also, she showed up in class one day with a Parker pen and I didn’t know what it was at the time, but watching the ink flow smoothly onto the paper and dry was magical. I convinced my father to buy me one in less than two days. From then on, I was captivated by all Parker pens and ballpoint pens, even more than Montblanc. The truth is that I wasn’t very interested in the lessons, except maybe for the history and, a little, for the language if the teacher told something interesting.

What I liked most about primary school was the writing tools. That was the art I valued back then, I always looked forward to a contest or competition where I could summarize or tell something in writing, that’s where I enjoyed it. It’s not that I was a genius in that art, but I was doing my I was not a genius in that art, but I did dabble in it, which relaxed me and put my mind to work.

At that time, there were a couple of rewards in the form of prizes for writing, nothing too important, but enough to make me realise how important writing is as a form of communication. Through letters, words, sentences, phrases, stories and tales, I can release my emotions, feelings and thoughts that need to be expressed with passion and colour to convey their structure.

I also remember that I loved reading the “The Five” books, published by the English writer Enid Blyton, a team of intrepid investigators, or so I imagined with adventures and mysteries such as smuggling, robberies, kidnappings, treasures, etc. ….. At first, reading these books was a challenge for me, but it was worth the effort. Summers at my aunt and uncle’s house on the beach were wonderful, and visiting my uncle Pablo’s library was one of my favourite times. He had books of all kinds, and although some seemed too complicated for me at the time, it was exciting to see so much literature. My uncle was very resourceful and sometimes he would pay my favourite cousin, Jonah, just to read, which had a captivating impact on my boy scout brain. Charging to read? That was something really innovative!

There is a book that I looked for years with my cousin Jonas in my uncle’s library. He had read it, and of course I couldn’t be left behind. Jonas had told me about this book and had told me some exciting anecdotes that piqued my curiosity. According to him, it was called

“Gold” and both he and my uncle had read it. I had wanted to read it since I was about 14 or 15 years old, but we never found it.

The adventures my cousin had told me about that book were truly exciting. With that title and me being only 15 years old, dreaming of becoming rich, my imagination was running wild. However, despite my best efforts, we never managed to find the book in my uncle’s library, despite looking for it several times each summer and, later, in bookshops and on the Internet.

I write because I like it, it helps me to keep control of my ideas and thoughts. The constant activity of my brain is sometimes not easy to manage, even for myself. I have an idea of what some people who knew me before I practised this exercise have had to put up with. I have difficulty sitting still and I am always restless and curious. I find it difficult to concentrate on something specific and to practice active listening. Actually, my mind has always preferred to wander, philosophise, create and invent. In many moments, it is like a kettle that is always boiling.

“Write your thoughts in people’s hearts, not in the water” Marcus Aurelius.

However, writing not only helps me satisfy my need to feel important, it also allows me to express my emotions, reflect on my actions and decisions, and process difficult experiences. Through writing, I can shape and order my thoughts, which in turn helps me make better decisions and have a clearer vision of my life and goals. In addition, by sharing my writing with others, I can inspire, motivate and help others, which is a very rewarding way to feel important and have a positive impact on the world.

According to Tony Robbins there are 6 universal needs that every man needs in his life, and now that I write daily I am finding that I have more than met them:

1. Certainty: Writing gives me a sense of security and stability, as it allows me to organise my thoughts and express my ideas in a clear and coherent way.

2. Variety: For me, writing is a way of experimenting with different styles and genres, which gives me a sense of novelty and excitement in my life.

3. Meaning: Writing helps me to explore my thoughts, my emotions, and to find purpose and direction in my life.

4. Connection: Writing is a way to connect with others, as I can share personal stories and experiences, and communicate ideas and opinions.

5. Growth: Writing is a way to learn and grow, as it allows me to reflect on experiences and develop new skills and perspectives.

6. Contribution: Writing is a way to make a difference in the world, whether it’s sharing knowledge, inspiring others, or advocating for an important cause.

“All in all, I believe I am on the path to my reason for being in this world and that is the most important thing I have discovered to date.”

goals

About the Creator

Asdrubal aka LittleAsdru

"I write about finance and personal development. Author of a saga of 11 books in the works. Follow me to get advice and reflections to improve your life"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AALWritten by Asdrubal aka LittleAsdru

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.