Motivation logo

The Story of Courage

Through the Eyes of A Soldier

By yana reguliPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I can't remember a time when I have looked at life through both eyes and heart but now I do. Our eyes see one thing but our hearts feel another depending on what we see and feel. I am proud to be part of U.S. Army National Guard. I remember first time I was in it took me a while to figure out why I joined and for what purpose. I got in 2012 and got out 2017 due to family. Now its 2020, I am glad I am back in. Before I joined military I was always discouraged and let things bother me easily. Some people have told me I wouldn't get anywhere in life. My mother was one of them. She had always been mentally abusive to me and wouldn't let me do what I want to do with my life. In 2012, I have had enough. I wanted to do something for me and my child. So I had made my decision and enlisted and I am glad I did. I did my time till 2017. I had to get out due to family. I had another beautiful baby girl and my man was in military. Through the years that followed, something had triggered my brain. In my heart, it came to me that I need to reenlist and do better for myself and my family. I talked to my man and he wasn't to keen about it because of his opinions. Again, I don't' care about my mom's or his opinions. What matters is what I do with my life and my decision. I reenlisted and I am glad I did because I miss my job in military. First time I was in I loved it and enjoyed every minute of it. To see other soldiers eating and putting a smile on their face made my day great. It filled my heart with happiness knowing that my brothers and sisters are fed and taken cared of. Through these tough times, I realize my job in military is more than just feeding and defending. It has to deal with that people are fed, taken cared of, helped, encouraged , and feeling love and wanted. The way I look at things and people have opened my eyes and heart big time. I know a lot of people are scared because of COVID19, but there is nothing to fear. There are a lot of brave men and women doctors, nurses, first responders, law enforcements, and military personnel out there helping and fighting against COVID19. We are never alone in this world. There are people out there that will destroy others emotionally like my mom and others. But then there is also people that will help you emotionally and encourage you to get better, stay safe, and safe distance. There is no reason for people to bring others down during these hard times. As humans, we need to be there for each other. Where I work I see some people that don't give a bear about others because they think they are better than others. I have learned over the years since first in military, that slowly but surely we will get through anything. Despite how people feel towards each other we need to stand up and help. No matter how life goes, we have the courage to make it better and be there for each other. Don't let no one control your life and hurt you emotionally. We have the power to make our life better and no one get deep into your skin. We have the courage to help each other and give hearts out.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.