Motivation logo

the stars that lie to you

and shine for you

By Jazzy Published 3 years ago 3 min read
6
the stars that lie to you
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

One look at me and most people will tell you I am the physical embodiment of a Sagittarius. I’m overly enthusiastic about nearly anything, I’m generally an overly positive person and of course, I have a fiery passion for life. I’m honest to a fault, impatient, and often times very tactless because of this. And having to do an essay that describes me and my obvious lack of modesty is right up my alley as well. The Sagittarius is considered the happiness sign, and because of that I can tell you, yes, in fact, I am very happy. I believe in my sign so much, that I will look up my zodiac sign and make sure the person I’m dating is good compatibility. In fact, I’ve used that line, “our zodiac signs don’t match” to not go on a date. (Feel free to use that as well.) Let’s look at a brief outline of astrology’s history.

Astrology is considered the oldest science. The Egyptians used it for everything, however, astrology was started by the Babylonians. These ancient cultures used the sky to make sense of the world around them, oftentimes using the stars to answer questions and predict patterns. From this standpoint, many big decisions were left to the skies, such as when to invade other countries or where to build temples. These zodiac signs are based on the stars in the sky at the time of record. While at the time of the zodiac signs beginning the world believed that the Earth of the center of the world, the main aspects are the same. Wouldn’t really be funny to go back and let these cultures know that the Earth revolved around the sun and not the other way around? Their minds would be so blown away, they may even change up the zodiac signs! However, it’s also important to note that the stars we are currently looking at are actually probably not around anymore, as the time it takes for the light from many of the stars takes a very long time to reach us. Thereby effectively we are seeing a sky full of stars that may not exist anymore.

However, back to the Sagittarius sign and how I relate to it. The main ideology associated with a Sagittarius woman is the fact she will not allow herself to be unhappy. I have never thought that we should suffer, and by that, I never settle. My greatest weakness tends to be that I’m impatient and I will always freely speak my mind. This, of course, is going to be a huge problem in a world that is easily offended. I am a natural-born leader, which by every other personality test I have taken I’m also not afraid of conflict. I’m dominant and influential. By this, there is no doubt. I’m also insanely modest, obviously.

Whether these zodiac signs are true or not, I relate to many, so very many of the traits associated with a Sagittarius. Who are we to argue with the science of antiquity? Do the stars and their relative locations affect us daily or chose our personalities? Probably not. Is it much more fun to think that maybe they do? Absolutely. The stars will always be there reminding us of our small and minimal existence, as they are so vast and endless. We are made of the same things as the stars, we are all stardust. We are the stars and they are us. We won’t stop looking to them to ask questions or tell us anything. As far as I’m concerned, the stars may lie to us. However, they also shine for us.

happiness
6

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.