Motivation logo

THE POWER

How Film and TV Changes the World We Live in.

By Isaac brown IIIPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

"You mean the world to me; you can't leave now...you can't." I say these words looking into your eyes, eyes that switch back and forth between life and death. I follow you down the hallway the doctors are rolling you down, holding onto your slipping hand as best I can as if to keep you alive, when we get to the door that I have come to loathe.

"I'm sorry sir, you’re not allowed in here!" The doctor proclaims.

"Why not?" I ask ecstatically, wanting to at least be able to see the love of my life pass if this is to be the last time, I see him.

"Close family only. This means parents or spouses." After sharp eye contact, the door closes. Shocked at the reality of the situation, my eyes slowly lower as my heartbeat intensifies, descending the door that has barred me from ever seeing you again. Turning, my body slumps against the door, as it slides down onto the cold floor. That was the last day I ever saw you.

This is the story of many who identify as LGBTQ+, before laws were enacted that allowed the community to marry, see loved one's pass in the hospital, and even be given a month to celebrate their claim. Independent of our individual beliefs on the legalization of same-sex-marriage, one thing that is undeniable about its rise to popularity in both political and pop-culture, is that it would have been impossible if it were not for one thing:

The TV screen.

Way before we started seeing Gay marriage talked about in politics and then voted on in office, the idea of gay couples started to trinkle the shows that we watch. It may not have been as strong back in 2007 when I was still in high school, but the idea was starting to be made known. Some like many in my family hated the idea, others, fully embraced it, but as the saying goes, “all publicity, is good publicity.”

Popular media and film have the power to change a nation. It has the power both to shine light on serious, life-threatening issues that have otherwise been looked over for far too long, (like the sex-trafficking of minors) or the ability to cause a young African American male to think twice before dating someone of Caucasian decent (like my cousin and I when we left the theater after seeing “Get Out,” this line is clearly being put here for comedic effect).

As I started to see the world change by way of an art form, the young, severely introverted by way of his mother’s early passing version of me, had grown to love, my intimacy with the medium only grew as its potential for me reached new heights.

I have always been a visual storyteller, from my adolescent years when I would turn two crowns and a piece of printer paper into an epic comic strip of love, danger, and espionage, to my post art-school years when I storyboarded for a TV show that gave me my first experience in the industry. It’s always on my lips, and something that has been a constant identifier of my being throughout the years.

I want to create content that adds to the wonderful pieces that continue to change the hearts of countless people around the world, inspiring some to reach farther than they ever have before, and giving others the security needed that the path they are on is not an untrekked one. This is what I want to do with my God-given (and life enforced) talent, and this is why I am so passionate about writing scripts that give people the strength to fight just one more day.

goals
1

About the Creator

Isaac brown III

I am a Christian and a lover of sci-fi; a genre that I love for it's ability to present known ideals and beliefs in a new and unique way, which if presented any other way, would be all but ignored.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.