Motivation logo

The Onion Story

You Are Important

By Apostle CashPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
YOU ARE IMPORTANT

One day in the early 90's I was blessed to spend some time with the very special little girl in the picture above, her name is Red. As you can see she was a very pretty little girl and It was her birthday but she didn't seem to be very happy. So I asked her if she felt up to going to Burger King to get a little something to eat? With a very big smile she replied "Yes, Sir". So we headed to the nearest Burger King. When we got there she told me what she wanted and we got a seat. Even though she was eating she didn't seem to be very happy. Someone had said somethings to her that hurt her feelings. She shared a little of it with me as we sat and talk.

When we were done on the way back I stopped her to a grocery store. She asked, why are we here? I said come on in you'll see. I took her over where the vegetables and fruits were and I looked until I found a nice big onion. I let her carry it to the check out, I paid for it and we left out of the store. Just outside was a bench so I asked her to sit with me for a moment. When she got seated I asked her to take out the onion, she took it out and gazed at it with the puzzled face of a grown person.

I reached out my hand and asked her if I could hold the onion? she quickly handed it to me.

I told her, nobody much likes the onion, It smells bad and it makes you cry when you cut it to cook with it. Then when you eat it, it makes your breath stink like who did it and why. But what's funny about it is, the onion is needed for so many good meals to be good meals. Even though not many people like the onion, not many homes are found without an onion or two and sometimes you will find a whole family of onions in a bag in a corner in some homes and many restaurants . Even though some people cry while pealing and cutting the onion, they still reach quickly for Brother and Sister Onion when they want to prepare a good meal.

Look At That Onion Sitting Pretty

People talk bad about the onion but yet, they call on it all the time and for many things even good health. The onion has proven to be so good at helping with health issues until in some places it's know as Natures Ninja.

The Onion is packed with nutrition and nutrients that not only help the body fend off Heart Conditions and different diseases including Cancers, Onions are particularly rich in probiotics which help increase the number of friendly bacteria in your gut to build immunity against viruses such as Covid-19 most recently known as the Coronavirus.

In India as early as the sixth century, They celebrated the Onion as a medicine, a diuretic good for digestion, the heart, the eyes and the joints. In ancient Egypt the Onion was an object of worship symbolizing eternity. The Egyptians saw eternal life in the anatomy of the Onion because of it's Circle-within-a-circle structure.

So no matter who didn't or still don't like the Onion, It is still a very well known and effective way to eat better and live better.

The little girl named Red sat and listened to me very patiently as she waited for my point that hid deep in my conversation of many words.

I told her whenever people make you feel like you don't matter, think about the Onion. They talk about it, turn they're heads away from it but yet no one can deny it's importance. YOU ARE IMPORTANT TOO.

As I finished my little but long talk Red asked me a question, with the prettiest smile she asked, when I get home, can I cut this Onion up and make me some Onion Rings? I gave her a big hug and a resounding yes to her question.

One day in 2004 I got to talk to Red again, she had grown up to be a very nice and very smart young lady. As we talked she smiled and seemed very happy. As I prepared to leave she stopped me and said, I still remember the story you told me about the Onion and it's value, and she grabbed me and gave me a big hug and said, thank you for teaching me that and for helping me to find and know MY OWN VALUE.

I was cool walking away to my car but my eyes were filled with tears of joy just to know she remembered and to know she got the message in the story. I think I'll have me an Onion Ring or two now. Good Day

by: Apostle Cash

healing
3

About the Creator

Apostle Cash

I am a person who loves to see others reach their greatest potential rather on a job, in a relationship or just in life in general.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.