Motivation logo

The Myth Called, 'I Don't Have Time'

What is time?

By Benedette UchePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
The Myth Called, 'I Don't Have Time'
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

‘How time flies.’

‘Time is money.’

‘Time waits for no one.’

‘You cannot turn the hand of the clock.’

These and more are the various ways we try to emphasise the importance of time and stress that lost time cannot be regained.

What is Time?

Time as a fundamental concept, has no single universally accepted definition. It is only generally accepted as the progression of events from the past to the present, to the future. Although time is measured by clocks and calendars, in my personal opinion, I believe that time transcends those parameters. Time is an illusion and the nature of time has been and will continue to remain a philosophical topic of debate for years.

‘I Don’t Have Time’ Is A Myth

We live in a fast-paced world where it is easy to fall into the trap of saying that we don’t have time. But time is always there. There are 24 hours available to everyone in a day. So the question is not how much time we have. The question is how do we use the time we have?

You may not achieve much if you are distracted by less important things when you should be doing more important things. It all boils down to your perception of time. I like that saying: ‘Don’t leave for later what you can do now.’ There are so many things that need our attention, from family to work, personal aspirations to social engagements, and so on. We juggle all these and sometimes it feels like we are not giving enough.

What Is The Value Of Time?

Since time is not a finite resource that runs out, we can shape it according to our goals and priorities. If the value of time is what we can achieve with it, why not say: ‘This is not a priority for me now’ rather than saying: ‘I don’t have time.’ This way, you can take ownership of your time and make a conscious choice about how you spend it. Also, the other party will understand how much value you placed on time; that you are not just trying to make an excuse for what you don’t want to do.

By Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Don’t Forget You Are Valuable Too

I remember a few years ago when I gave most of my time to my job. I had no life so to say. It got to a stage where I was so stressed and lost in the job that I quit the job. I had to quit because the manager wouldn’t let me cut down from the six days a week I was doing. I realised that when you keep giving and giving without thinking about yourself, you feel exhausted, used, unhappy and sick. The same thing happens in relationships too.

Don’t forget you are valuable too. Each time you give out is a piece of you being given. Have you thought about it? When you ‘make time’ for someone or something, you have to invest in your emotions, knowledge, energy, health, and convenience to get that thing done. And sometimes you even take risks because the higher the risk, the more you achieve.

Time Is More Than Money

However, create a balanced life. Make time for things that matter. Make time for yourself too. That holiday or spa day you keep postponing because of deadlines… Let me tell you what I told myself before I quit that job: ‘If I slumped and died on this job, the work goes on and there must be someone else to take over from where I stopped.’ I handed in the resignation letter despite the manager’s protests and I got my life back!

Time is more than money. Time is your life. How long you live, and everything you achieve, are all tied to time. Always evaluate your priorities. What are your goals, your purpose, your commitments, and your distractions? When you value your time, you will find meaning and fulfilment in life.

self helpsuccessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.