Motivation logo

The Morning After.....

Now what????

By Colette PrattPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
The Morning After.....
Photo by Stan CARREY on Unsplash

Before I open my eyes I stretch and shake off the fog of sleep. I hear talking in the background. Familiar voices that lulled me to sleep. My inner clock tells me it is early morning, but the voices. Have I only been asleep for minutes? I slowly open my eyes and realize that it is the morning after, and according to the commentators no clear winner has been delcared. The 2020 election, the pandemic, the current state of the country have all been skewed, and nothing is clear. This is not a peculiar happening, but the manifestation of things past.

Armed with my morning coffee I settle in to see what is happening. I want to be invested in this race. I voted for my choice as I have in the past, but my head won't allow me to become overwhelmed with the goings on in race. I'm so tired of the vitriol surrounding this election, this presidency, that I decided long ago to do my part and not worry about the rest. Is that selfish? Is it un-American? I can't worry about any of that when there are so many other things of concern to me. So I sip and I watch, and I listen until I'm not listening anymore.

What will change, really? For me, not much. The trickle down of this situation will have dried up by the time it reaches me. There may be a drop or two to quench the figuative thirst of my life. At this moment I know that I must continue as I have, trudging along the path that is my life. Working, paying bills, keeping my head above water and my face covered with a mask. It is not my choice, but it is a necessity if I want to continue to move forward in a world that is consumed by a virus that has killed millions in this world.

Many thought they would wake up and know who would be the winner of this dredded election. I however, am a realist. I know it will be days before a winner is declared, and even then it may not be clear. So in this moment I decide for myself. I will not be consumed by things beyond my control. I will continue along my path, chosing to focus on my life; God, family, and community. I will not be sucked into the vaccum of the embittered, by a result that may not be to my liking. I will hold my head up high like the queen that I am, and continue down the path that will bring me joy. The path that will give my life meaning. And as I decide that what to do next, I rise from my comfortable chair, and prepare to do what I have done for days, months, years..... I get dressed and go to work, thankful that no matter who is President of these United States, my path is clear.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Colette Pratt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.