Motivation logo

The Money Jar.

A quick idea to save money during hardship.

By Serita TillsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The year was 2011, and I and my young son were living in income-based housing in a somewhat rough part of town. I was barely supporting us through odd job and online gigs. I was fortunate enough to qualify to not have to pay rent on our apartment but I still had the rest of the bills to pay, including a ridiculous propane bill in the winter. Before anyone scoffs at this, let me tell you this is not fun, it's not easy, it downright blows. Living in income-based housing is two steps away from being homeless, and there is a stigma that comes with that, which is very hard to overcome.

At one point, I was chatting with a friend about finding a better place to move, they lived out of state, and where they lived housing was decent, even affordable to someone in my position. But how save money for a move, when you are already struggling? A brilliant idea came to mind right about then, when one of my family mentioned how they had saved pennies in a jar to make ends meet, and how they had used that money to pay off bills. I was skeptical, but figured hey why not, a penny saved is a penny earned right?

During this point in time, I was babysitting for the neighborhood families, making $50.00 a family per week. Some weeks it was just $50, and some weeks I got almost $200. I went into the kitchen and got down a Mason jar from the cabinet and started scrounging for change. I started with a couple of bucks worth of small change. I set a rule for this little jar, that for every $10.00 that I broke the extra change would go in the jar, no matter how tight I was, that money jar would not be touched. I continued babysitting, kept my bills paid, and for every $10 I spent, the extra change went to the jar. To add to my little rule, I started buying el cheapo products like $1.00 shampoo and uber-cheap cleaning products and etc. This added to my savings substantially. All I did for six straight months was pay bills, and buy the cheapest necessities possible. Yes, it hurt, yes, it was somewhat depressing at times, but I had a goal in mind and when I set my sights on something very little will dissuade me from it.

In January of 2012, after months of saving like a miser, I got down this jar and the extra jar that I had to make to store the change. After careful consideration of my circumstances, I decided to use the money for bills, as was originally suggested. while I wanted to move, it was going to be harder than I planned to pull it off by myself. The grand total of all this nitpicky saving and scraping by on near nothing? $865.00. I used that money to pay off a $500.00 credit card balance and kept the rest to start another jar with. It was a hard lesson in what you can achieve when you have "nothing" to go on and what a little hard work can get you. I still keep a money jar, not because I absolutely need it, it is more like a reminder of where I was at one point. One year, I used the money out of the jar to pay for the kids' Christmas. I've told others about my idea, and some have looked at me like I was crazy, and some have started their own money jars, and have come back to tell me what a good idea it was. Maybe you should start your own jar, and nevermind the modern convenience of banking nowadays, do something more humbling and meaningful, and start breaking those 10's!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Serita Tillson

I am a self-published author with 8 books published (and counting) in the Metaphysical Arts and Fantasy Romance genres. I am earning my BS in Business and Financial Planning from the University of Phoenix.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.