Motivation logo

The Life-Changing Magic Of Sleeping On The Floor

2 years ago I sold my bed and it was the best decision I ever made.

By Clarice Quinn TaylorPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Patryk Kamenczak from Pexels

So this is an update on my minimalist life. I have been sleeping on my floor for about a week now and it is the most blissful sleep I have ever gotten. The reason I started doing this was that I was talking to Chris and I said, “My bed hurts me when I sleep, maybe I should sleep on the floor?”(Don’t know what I said but it’s close to that.)

So starting this month on August 1st I slept almost the entire night on the floor. I laid in my bed for about an hour after I made it since I sat down to do something and just ended passing out for some reason.

The second night I slept on the floor the full night and then laid down for about 15 minutes on my bed. That was the last time I slept in a bed to sleep. I have laid down and fallen asleep watching TV or something but that is it.

Quick note, I did a bunch of research about floor sleeping and found out a lot about how our bodies are made to sleep on a firm surface and that beds can cause a lot of back pain and other health problems and so on…So last night I took a huge step in this process of getting rid of my bed entirely. I tore down my bed fully and replaced the area of my room with the sleet I have been sleeping on the last week. I will be buying myself a Japanese futon to lay on at night but outside of that, I will have nothing else between me and the floor. I will tell you this past week has given me the greatest sleep of my life. Barring my old mattress falling on top of me last night while I was asleep the experience has been blissful. You may be asking yourself “Why is she doing this?” well I’m going to tell you one thing.

I don’t intend on staying in one place for much longer and I want the ability to just pack up and leave somewhere and be able to sleep wherever whenever.

For example, if you are staying in a hotel and the beds don’t look like they are clean you can just sleep on the floor. Also, I am a minimalist and I am on a quest to getting rid of legitimately everything I own and don’t need. My bed is one of those things.

I am working hard on myself and finding new things every day that I didn’t know I even owned and getting rid of them. I use a cool method called the 90/90 rule.

The 90/90 Rule:

If you find an object in your home (Cloths, junk, papers, etc.) and you have not used that item in the last 90 days or will not be using it in the next 90 days you should get rid of it. Most of those items that you can get rid of will cost you less than $20 to replace if you ever find yourself in need of something you have gotten rid of.

This last year has been the greatest year of my life, full of a lot of stress but all of it has made me a better person, and finding out about minimalism has changed my life.

Remember minimalism is not about living without, minimalism is about living your life with intention and living your best life with less.

Join my email list to keep in touch and get free tips on how to improve your writing!

Thank you!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.