Journal logo

What It Is Like To Retire At 21 And Never Look Back

A Story Of How I Retired From Work At 21 And I Permanently Travel The World

By Clarice Quinn TaylorPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Artem Beliaikin from Pexels

I am 24 years old I currently am living in the lush green forests of New Hampshire for the summer working from home online. I currently write about three to five stories a week here on Medium and I am the owner of an entertainment news brand called Culture Slate. Before you ask “How are you retired if you still work?” I should explain my situation a little bit better.

I am currently 24 years old and since I was 21 I have not held a day job, I have lived the majority of my time since then in Los Angeles, Californa and I essentially do not have a job or work really at all. The only things I do are surf, skate, hang out with friends, write on Medium, and make YouTube videos and stream on Twitch. You may be wondering how I can consider myself retired if I currently have bills to pay and jobs that I do. Well, it is all a matter of perspective. You know the saying “if you like what you do you never will work a day in your life.”

My entire life is like that and no I have not had a day job in over three years. Yes, I work some here and there but the majority of my time is spent traveling, seeing new places, and meeting new people.

My whole life philosophy is based on the idea that I will only work when I want to or absolutely need to.

How to live on vacation 24/7

I will pretence this with a warning. Living your life like you are on vacation is not smooth sailing nor is it easy. It if fact can be very hard to accomplish. I have had a lot of problems in the last few years because of the lifestyle I live but honestly, I love it and I do not know where I would be if this was not my life.

Working when I absolutely have to just to cover basic needs is a must but that's basically the only amount of work that I do. I don’t go out to fancy places or go do extravagant things but that is not who I am. I am definitely the go with the flow type of girl. I enjoy the simple things. I like to spend time with my friends, go hiking, or even share my experiences with you guys.

By the way, if you want to sign up for my weekly newsletter I encourage you to do so here. I share exciting projects and tips on how to live your best fulfilling life every week!

Traveling

I currently travel around the USA full time spending time in a place for a few weeks here and there. I am working on building an entertainment company called Culture Slate. I am also a part-time streamer on Twitch, so I play video games when I am stationary online a few times a week. But my real love is when I am out on the open road traveling and seeing new places.

In the next few months to a year, I would like to fully transition to traveling full time and becoming a stock photography artist and making an income that way. I also want to continue writing here on medium and growing as an author and this gig has the potential of making some really good money if I keep writing every day and get back on track with my writing. I know I have been slacking off lately and I am sorry.

How to Get to The Point Where You Do Not Work And Can Thrive

It is not an easy task building a residual passive or even semi-passive income from scratch. I have had to learn a lot of tricks to get to where I am now and I honestly would not be here if I was not extremely lucky. My lifestyle is not for everyone and outside of my desktop computer that I have I only own enough things to fit into a small duffle bag.

I could spout off about how you can stop working your day job and just become like me if you only did these three things but I am not going to do that. I am going to tell you the cold hard sober truth. This lifestyle I live by is not for everyone and I have truly been very lucky not to end up on the streets. I have survived on the kindness of others and gotten lucky with the small gigs I have done over the last few years.

I have worked here and there to make money all over the country but that doe not come without its issues. I do not have a lot of money, I am fully a minimalist, I do not have a partner, I have no family, I live out of a backpack. But here is the thing. Living my life on vacation and as a digital nomad, I wouldn't change it for the world.

If you found value in this article or would like to see more of my writing I encourage you to follow me and give all the claps so my stories reach a larger audience. I have been writing here on Medium now for over 3 months and I have loved sharing my experience of life with you all, Thank you so much.

Ready to Level-Up? Join My Newsletter for more stories and tips to gain excellence in every aspect of your life!

Syndicated from My Medium Page

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.