Motivation logo

The Fresh Princess of Bel-Air

Interview with Tameka Hanley

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

World Storytelling Day, which occurs annually on March 20, is a day that celebrates the art of storytelling. All forms of storytelling are appreciated on this day including anything from picture books to novels.

The day acknowledges the art form of storytelling and encourages diversity among different cultures and races. So get your favorite book and join us to celebrate one of the oldest forms of communication, storytelling! Today we have the honor of interviewing an amazing educator and author, Tameka Hanley.

•Tell us more about yourself. Who is the woman behind the brand?

Tameka: Reading literature unleashed my vivid imagination! Ever since I was a little girl I’ve had a book attached to my hip. “The Babysitters Club” book series was my favorite.  I’d open the book and all of a sudden my reality no longer existed. I became Molly Booker, who was upset at the fact that she had to miss the school dance all because she had to babysit her sister.  I would literally visualize every action, word, and color as I was reading.  From that moment on everything became more than reality. My imagination began to run wild, and before I knew it I was creating my own stories. As an educator, in one of the toughest industries right now, I also wanted to give back to students. Although, my job is challenging, I see firsthand what my students face as they are trying to navigate through life. This story is really not about me, it is about highlighting a tool and a resource that will bring some laughter, fun, and even confidence to the young people that are facing so many obstacles, especially with mental health being a top concern. A story of an African American teacher finding strength to become a best-selling author in the middle of a pandemic while also pouring into these children daily will surely inspire someone to never stop pushing, and to always look for ways to give back.

•It’s Women’s History Month. Who is a woman who inspires you and why?

Tameka: My mom. No matter what life throws at her, she  always preservers through with such grace and strength.  In the mist of her Lupus flares, and financial struggles, my mom always listened to the crazy story ideas I had, from Sally being abducted by clones, to Tommy exploding because he simply ate too much. Along with her open ears she also told me if the story had potential, or if the story idea was just, well, too out of the box. I took her opinion seriously and patched up my broken ideas. From there I snuck into the office room, took a few pieces of printer paper, stapled them together, and was off to go publish my ideas. Without her I wouldn't be the woman that I am today. 

•What inspired your journey as an author?

Tameka: My career choice didn’t become clear until I reached college. As I began to grow up I continued to come up with story ideas, maturing as the years went. I kept several diaries, documenting every moment of my life within each page. I used the trials and tribulations that I endured as platforms to stories. Nevertheless, I got through the hard times coming out stronger than ever and with amazing stories.  Before I knew it I was off to college with twenty journals in tow and no idea what major I was going to declare. What I did know was writing had been a part of my life and is a part of who I am; so it was a must to have it incorporated into my career choice. A few years, and best selling novel later, I wouldn't trade it for the world. 

•Tell me what problem you’re looking to solve. 

Tameka: Not having stories that students, specifically black students can relate to and are excited to read within schools. I believe this story will deliver the resilience of a teacher to make a difference in the community, it will deliver a tool to schools, households, and communities that will also show some diversification in the libraries. Many books on our school shelves show Caucasian characters, and I wanted to find something they could relate to while also feeding them encouragement at the same time.  

* What kind of impact do you want your book to leave on your reader? 

Tameka: I want my readers to see that where you come from does not have to define who you have to be. I want them to feel empowered to love themselves and know that they are valued no matter what their environment looks like. 

Our readers can connect with Tameka via social media

Or purchase via Amazon here

success
1

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.