Motivation logo

World Mental Heath Day

The importance of mental health with author and celebrity drummer Wes Watkins

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Wes Watkins

Wes Watkins is a celebrity musician, author, entrepreneur and single father of two. His fan base extends to over 91K in followers. Wes even has a partnership with the Sirius Company for his music talent. His grind is impressive beyond his music. He has expanded his brand to reach within the literary world as he shares his personal testimony that impacted his mental health.

October 10th is World Mental Heath Day and Wes has been and advocate and very transparent about his past struggles with mental wellness. During our unprecedented times, many need reassurance that they aren’t alone in their mental struggles. Seeing the transparency of Wes. It is key for everyone to witness a man of color who shares in these challenges since many communities of color shy away from mental wellness conversations.

It was a pleasure speaking to Wes about his accomplishments.

Tell us a little about yourself.

Wes: I am from the Anne Arundel County area located in Maryland. I am a musician and an author. I've been playing drums for 34 years and have had the opportunity to tour and work with musicians all across the world. I've worked with artist such as The Fabulous Thunderbirds, Grammy Nominated Carolyn Malachi, Marcus Johnson, Sirius Company, Chrisette Michelle, Koryn Hawthorn, Travis Greene, Sirius Company and my band Got My Own Sound just to name a few. I have also had the opportunity to release two books titled The Life That Created My Own Sound and Motivation + Drive = Purpose

What led you to become an advocate for mental health?

Wes: I became an advocate for Mental Health because of the Mental Health issues I dealt with myself. There was a time when I went through suicide attempts, depression, alcoholism and much more. During one of the toughest times in my life I learned how to navigate through these issues and was able to overcome what could have taken me out. Making the decision to go get help and facing my issues head on showed me that I didn't have to give up on myself and life. Just knowing that this was part of my process and not the end I overcame it.

How does writing help your journey?

Wes: Writing helped my journey because it became my outlet to share with people facing the same issues and let them know that your imperfections are actually the things that qualify you to be the perfect person for your situation. Being able to share parts of my life that I thought disqualified me with others is my way of giving someone else hope to face their issues and grow from them.

Tell us a little about your new children’s book that came out this week.

Wes: My new children's book ,Fathers Need Their Kids and Kids Need Their Fatherswas written because it's the truth. There are so many amazing fathers who are facing situations and don't have the chance to be the father they need to be. There are kids longing for their fathers and missing a strong male presence. As a father you want to be there to speak life into your kids. You want to be present at their games, read bedtime stories to them, show up when they need you, being there when they're hurt, and simply showing them love. I wrote this book for fathers to have the most amazing bonding time with their children.

You’re and author, musician and entrepreneur. How do you balance staying healthy mentally with your busy schedule?

Wes: Being a musician, entrepreneur and author can become stressful if you don’t take breaks. I make sure I set aside time to recharge and spend time with my kids. In this lifestyle I have to make sure I enjoy my work. I make it a point not to stress on anything and understand everything won’t always go my way. With this mindset I am able to navigate and protect my mental 24/7. If I can’t enjoy it and have fun then it’s not meant for me.

interview
1

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.