Motivation logo

The COVID-19 Olympics

The pandemic is not a competition.

By ALNMPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The COVID-19 Olympics
Photo by Joshua Golde on Unsplash

For the last 37 days (and counting), I've made every attempt to stay productive. I've signed up for women support groups on running for public office. I've signed up for voter registration parties (some with Michelle Obama). I attempted to start a new nonprofit, tried to start a book, and tried to make a new podcast series (even though I hate the sound of my voice). I contemplated doing a new work out routine, with the hopes of being healthy and fit by the end of quarantine.

My new spreadsheets are titled 'Internships FINAL,' 'Scholarships FINAL,' and 'Post-grad FINAL.' After finding out my study abroad trip got cancelled, I even made a spreadsheet on which semester I should graduate.

Your COVID-19 Olympic might look different. Maybe you're trying to become Tik Tok famous or come out of the quarantine looking like The Rock. Maybe you've spent quarantine trying to be The Bachelor or Bachelorette and downloaded every dating app. Most of us, have even ordered everything that online retailers sell (and with those sales, maybe we should be). Maybe you're trying to get creative, cutting your own bangs or dying your hair at home. If you're a book-warm, I'm sure you've made a list of books you want to read before the stay-at-home order ends.

But, with all my planning, came my disappointment. I got to the point where I felt as if I couldn't fill out another application. I felt drained out and with nothing to look forward to. I spent days scattering around looking for a new project, and it kept me restless. One night I woke up thinking "are there any research grants I can apply for?" I did that research at 4 AM, taking notes on the research programs I could apply for. In my normal life, I don't have time for this, but maybe I can do it all during the quarantine. The next day, I woke up and realized I overslept for my 8 AM class.

As we place our sanity into becoming champions of COVID, we neglect the priorities we actually have.

I think that we can all agree that this neglect might come from adapting to this virtual reality. Instead of dressing up for work in the morning, we are now left having ZOOM meetings while the rest of your family interrupts. College classes feel optional, and if you have a live lesson, you might check in and then doze off. Not to mention spending time with family now feels like a punishment.

To an extent, planning these things or seeking success during a time where the world is upside down makes us feel like we're in control.

It makes me forget that I haven't seen the sun in days, or that I'm not allowed to get the mail without first sanitizing it. My over the top spreadsheets make me forget that on Sunday I woke up at 3:45 PM, and then Tuesday I woke up at 7:30 AM. Sending an email to a real human that isn't titled 'COVID-19' makes me forget that I've spent over $600 buying clothes I won't wear for months (or years).

These aren't vacations or remote work days on steroids. We shouldn't be trying to win "COVID-19's Most Productive" or "COVID-19's Best Online Shopper." Those awards don't exist.

These times are uncertain, all of our 2020 hopes and dreams have collapsed. Don't feel bad if you haven't made this time worthwhile. It's okay if you're sleeping in, laying in bed all day, and eating chips as you watch your 12th consecutive hour of TV. Even though nothing feels normal anymore, we shouldn't apply that rule to ourselves. The pandemic is not a competition: it's okay to be normal.

success
1

About the Creator

ALNM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.