Motivation logo

The Cheer-up Trifecta

My go-to's for a break from all the blah.

By Hannah BPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
From Getty images.

I really do love this age of media... but saying that feels like I just let a swear-word slip in front of my boss. I know that the use of media isn't always constructive or positive but I find it so incredible that we, the humans living on this earth right now, are the first ones to have ever experienced it like this. We've stumbled upon a moment in history: we are "the age of the internet". I think the best thing about it is we are all figuring out that the internet, so saturated and full to the brim with information, is almost entirely what we decide we want it to be. Certainly it's always important to explore new sources of information and to keep up to date on current events, but you ultimately have the power to decide when and where and how you do that. We can find a happy place on the internet amidst the chaos of the information overload. We can create better online environments for ourselves and others by interacting with joy and ignoring hatred and negativity. We can use this tool to connect rather than divide if we so choose. It's truly amazing how much power we have over our own feelings and experiences even in the wake of all of this information!

Except sometimes... it's pretty hard to create joy amongst the internet trolls and clickbait; the world wide web can be a bit of a downer if we aren't careful or mindful of what and where we scroll. One minute you're looking at a dog riding a skateboard and the next you're on a "Top 15 Psychopaths who did terrible things to animals" list. You post a selfie and feel good about yourself then find out someone drew all over it on Snapchat and gave you a moustache. There is a fair bit of misery looking for company out there, and no matter how careful we are, sometimes we end up sitting on misery's sofa drinking tea. Eating dried up crumpets that sort of taste like misery handled them before the hand sanitizer dried on their palms. So I'm going to share with you where I scroll to get me up off the misery couch. And stop using this tea on the misery couch analogy for both of our sakes.

I find joy when I interact with: @respectfulmemes on instagram

This is just one of the many favourites of mine posted by the wholesome account and self proclaimed "#1 source of memes to show your Grandma!"

@Respectfulmemes is one of the only social media accounts I follow that isn't run by someone I know personally. I have reached a point in my adult life where following celebrities, comedy accounts, and other black holes of diet ads and juice cleanse sponsors have become just about the worst use of my time I can imagine, so I mostly use social media for friends and family content only. I don't know where or how I found this account, but every day I am so glad I have. The posts are filled with absolutely adorable compliments, and each day I can grab a sweet screen cap to send to my husband when I'm missing him. Plus, the only Coronavirus related content I have seen on the account so far are genuine messages of hope and good news regarding the cure. I don't know who is behind the account, but I imagine whoever they are has a sparkly rainbow glow around them at all times and gives amazing hugs.

I find joy when I listen to: Heavyweight, a podcast from Gimlet Media (available on Spotify and Apple podcasts)

This screen cap in particular is of one of my favourite episodes from the most recent season of the show.

I know what you're thinking: "what could be so great about a podcast about boxing if I don't box?" and I have great news for you: Heavyweight has zero to do with boxing at all. The show is hosted by monotone sweetheart Johnathan Goldstein, who helps people reconnect with people, places, and issues from their past with the hopes of helping them find resolution. At risk of sounding cliche, I still have to say, this show has it all: you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll wonder how you find someone so monotone and awkward so endearing. The team at Gimlet do such an amazing job of making sure that each episode is so unique from the rest, and yet, the situations in most if not all of the Heavyweight guest's lives are relatable in some way. We all have a missed connection, unresolved fight, missed opportunity, or unanswered question, and even when it's not mine being explored or solved, I find myself cheering on each guest as they find what they are looking for.

I find joy when I look at: My son. In a sloth costume. With a sloth stuffy.

Taken by me on his first Halloween last fall. I mean... cute animals and cute babies? How could I go wrong?

I know every mom thinks that the internet needs to see more of their child in whatever ridiculous outfit they happen to put them in but....look at this kid. We sort of created a masterpiece. I mean, I guess every parent did....mostly. We won't talk about not-so-cute babies right now, because that just won't make anyone happy.

Since becoming a mom 8 short months ago, I find myself every so often going through the extensive collection of pictures and videos of this child, smiling, laughing, marvelling at how fast he's grown and how I can't believe I thought he was "big" before. That I found him so brilliantly smart and adorable as he barely held his head up in this gigantic, fuzzy, stupid costume (that he absolutely hated).

If this picture doesn't bring you joy then I'm not really sure what to tell you, other than, "this must be a very dark time in your life, and I'm very sorry to hear it. Would you like a hug and some hot chocolate? Can I interest you in.... other photos of my child?"

And there you have it. My three best suggestions for a little happiness boost right now. The world is a bit of a mess and the information floating around out there is even more scary and messy, and now we are stuck in our homes having nothing but time to browse, scroll, click, and reflect. I hope you can find comfort in these three pockets of love, and I hope you'll share with me the lovely places you like to find light in the darkness. Let's take care of each other using this incredible world wide tool now that we cannot be together in person. Let the trolls crawl back under their bridges, and fill your feeds with happy.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Hannah B

Mom, self proclaimed funny girl, and publicly proclaimed "piece of work".

Lover and writer of fiction and non-fiction alike and hoping you enjoy my attempts at writing either.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.