Motivation logo

Thankful for Vocal!

Adventuring with words and wonders

By Rowan Finley Published 11 months ago 3 min read
7
Photo taken by Polina Kovaleva

There is a lot be to grateful for, but here I sit on my couch with a fuzzy blanket, feeling thankful for Vocal. Hot tea never gets old and neither does writing for Vocal. The last few years have felt dark and overwhelming, but I have appreciated having Vocal as an outlet to pour out my heart and soul through bleeding black words on a page. There has been such tremendous comfort in letting the words come as they wish. I especially enjoy writing by candlelight. Candles will never get old as the candle flame will always symbolize resiliency and undying passion. Never do I have to fear judgement from Vocal. I let the words flow, some days through poetry, some days through fiction (I'm so thankful for the fiction category now....yes!), or sometimes through personality theory ponderings.

Vocal, you're like a friend who is truly always there. Through days that are overcast, or rainy, and through days that are sunny and warm on the beach, you're there. Your kind, welcoming heart and attentive ear are ready to sit with me while I cry sometimes. You rest your calm hand gently on my shoulder and whisper in my ear, "Things are going to be okay...you're resilient and stronger than you think. Let the words swirling wildly in your mind find the page, and you won't regret it."

Writing for Vocal has given me the opportunity to let my soul explore anywhere it wants to go. When I think of the soul, I think of its triune nature - my mind, will, and emotions. Typically, my mind is like a bossy captain who is very logical and unforgiving of my emotions. He barks orders to the rest of me in a way. He's structured and critical sometimes. My emotions are like a reckless shipmate who swings from the ropes daringly above the masts. Emotion, well, he's literally all over the place and wants to love and serve everyone all at the same time, but not only that he wants to live a life full of adventure! My will hides some days in the hull and then other days it walks across the deck, pacing, searching for resolve of some kind. Will, he is just a teeter-totter of sorts who is picking petals off flowers, while asking questions, and questions, and questions that may not have any real answers.

I wish that everyone would take the time to write, as every person is riddled with insecurities, strengths, experiences (good and bad), knowledge, intuitions, regrets, joys, frustrations, confessions, life lessons, and so much more that they should share with the world around them. Obviously, not everyone enjoys writing, but I just hate thinking about all the people out there who haven't had a chance to share their stories with the world. There are countless ways to share your story, but Vocal is one of the best outlets I have ever come across as of yet!

Many days, I feel a bit wild, like a stallion who cannot wait to get free and run with crazy abandon across dessert lands. People around me often come across as dull mentally, or uncreative. The way in which many people converse and interact is just dry and aimless. When I come on Vocal and read what other people are dwelling on, and writing about, it makes me feel less alienated. Being apart of a community of people who love to write is truly inspiring! Obviously, we don't all agree on the same things, but what we do agree on is that we all love to write and that is what beautifully unites us!

advicesuccesshappinessproduct review
7

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    That's one thing I've always loved about the written word. Pure unbridled thought can be translated from the brain onto the page. And I agree, everyone should write.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.