Motivation logo

Taking The First Step

The journey of a thousand miles.

By Corene TorresPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Good morning on this glorious Monday. Today is the second Monday of 2021 and it seems like we are on a fast track straight to hell. 2020 was bad enough and the road ahead looks dark. Just because the world is going crazy does not mean we have to lose ourselves or lose hope. I am sure we all made New Year’s resolutions and by now we have abandoned most of them. That is human nature. We tend to say we will do this and that tomorrow or next week and then we slip up and we put it off again or abandon those goals all together. I recently did a podcast episode about focusing on just one goal. That one goal that will ultimately lead to other goals coming into fruition naturally. My goal is just making sure I exercise every day. I know for me if I exercise every day, I will automatically eat better. I am not putting in all of that work for nothing. Treadmills are great for burning calories and keeping active, but I don’t want my goals to be on a treadmill. I am automatically going to feel better if I am exercising and eating better and I will find myself making other improvements and being a lot more productive in other areas of my life without even thinking about it. By focusing on exercising every day, my entire life will probably change for the better.

Human beings seem to gravitate to all or nothing whether we realize it or not. It easy to let one thing go and then another and then another until finally we have let ourselves go completely. I know last year, for many, was a year of weight gain, overspending online and a whole lot of streaming. Being that we do not know what is going to happen this year, and by the look of things, it could very well be worse, self-discipline is vital. We have to let go of the mentality that it is just this year and next year will be better or different. Looking at the climate out there, and I am not talking about the weather, it could be one year or ten years. After seeing so many sci-fi and fantasy episodes play out in real life, I believe that a lot of what we see on television is going to continue to play itself out in real life. I joke about it all the time but right now I am being serious. The world is changing. Freedom is being taken for granted on some levels and being whisked away on others. I think of the character in I Am Legend. He was extremely disciplined. He had a schedule that he stuck to. Obviously, this is an extreme example because the human population has not been wiped out by zombies, yet. Although the vaccine is out there now, and I just do not trust it. But that mentality is what I am after. It does not matter if you live alone or not. Disciplining your household is a good thing. Now, don’t treat your kids like they are in the Marines. They have every right to enjoy life as much as possible and kids gotta be kids, but teaching limitations is a good thing. You cannot teach what you do not have. Your kids, employees or anyone you influence will follow what you do despite what you say.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step. Take the first step and then keep going. Make a mistake, slip up, miss a day, keep going anyway. Don’t let one bad day or moment destroy your goals. You cheat on your diet, oh well, what’s done is done. Get back on the diet. You miss a day of exercising, oh well, exercise the next day. It takes 21 days to build a habit, but those habits can be broken in less than one if we allow them to be. I know exactly what I want in life and I know that exercising everyday is the first step in my journey of a thousand miles. Like many, I suffered my fair share of depression last year and questioned a lot of things in life. I found clarity and drive and at this point only death will stop me from achieving my goals. One of my favorite quotes is by Jim Rohn, “If you want something bad enough, you will find a way. If not, you’ll find an excuse.” Excuses are for losers and I am done with that life. No matter what your goals are, they can be accomplished. Don’t sell yourself short.

My next article will be Freaky Friday. Imagine you wake up in your exes body. That one is going to be fun. If you have not already, check out my website tornadotorres.com. Also, Stationhead is now available on both Apple and Android. Check out Tornado Torres Radio. Follow the station and you can listen live or listen to recorded shows. Live listeners are welcome to participate in the show. Hope everyone has a great week.

tornadotorres.com

self help
1

About the Creator

Corene Torres

Specialize in sales training and coaching for management and agents. Poet, published a book (Where I Stood), podcaster & doing spoken word on YouTube (Tornado Torres). Dealer in NASA based green technology (Krypto Marketing on Facebook).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.