Motivation logo

Soulful Simplicity

Chicken Noodle Soup

By Crystal McDanielPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Soulful Simplicity
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

The rain poured outside, creating a gloomy atmosphere that mirrored the heaviness in my heart. I had just received news of a personal setback, and I felt like I was drowning in a sea of disappointment and doubt. The weight of it all made it hard to find the will to do anything, let alone cook a proper meal.

As I stood in my kitchen, staring blankly at the ingredients before me, I felt a sense of defeat wash over me. The thought of preparing a meal seemed like an insurmountable task. But just as I was about to give up and settle for a bowl of cereal, there was a knock on my door.

I opened it to find my best friend Sarah standing there, rain-soaked but with a warm smile on her face. In her hands, she held a covered dish. "I heard you've received some bad news," she said softly. "I brought you something that always brings me comfort."

She handed me the dish, and as I lifted the lid, the aroma of homemade chicken noodle soup filled the air. The sight of the tender chicken, vibrant vegetables, and perfectly cooked noodles nestled in the flavorful broth instantly lifted my spirits. It was as if Sarah had poured her love and care into that pot, knowing exactly what I needed in that moment.

Touched by her thoughtfulness, I invited her inside, and we sat down at the kitchen table. As we savored spoonfuls of the comforting soup, Sarah listened attentively as I poured out my heart. She offered words of encouragement and understanding, reminding me that setbacks were just temporary roadblocks on the journey of life.

In that moment, the storm outside seemed to calm, and a sense of peace enveloped me. Sarah's friendship and the comforting bowl of soup brought me the emotional nourishment I so desperately needed.

Now, let me share with you the recipe for Sarah's delicious chicken noodle soup:

Ingredients:

- 1 whole chicken, approximately 4 pounds

- 2 medium onions, diced

- 4 carrots, sliced

- 4 celery stalks, sliced

- 4 cloves of garlic, minced

- 1 bay leaf

- Salt and pepper to taste

- 8 cups chicken broth

- 8 ounces egg noodles

- Fresh parsley, chopped (for garnish)

Instructions:

1. Place the chicken in a large pot and cover it with water. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let it simmer for about an hour until the chicken is cooked through and tender.

2. Remove the chicken from the pot and set it aside to cool. Once cooled, shred the chicken into bite-sized pieces, discarding the skin and bones.

3. In the same pot, heat some oil and sauté the onions, carrots, celery, and garlic until they begin to soften, around 5 minutes.

4. Add the bay leaf, salt, and pepper to the pot. Pour in the chicken broth and bring it to a boil. Reduce the heat and let it simmer for about 20 minutes to allow the flavors to meld together.

5. Add the shredded chicken back to the pot and stir in the egg noodles. Cook according to the package instructions until the noodles are tender.

6. Taste and adjust the seasonings as needed. Remove the bay leaf before serving.

7. Ladle the soul-soothing chicken noodle soup into bowls and garnish with freshly chopped parsley.

For the next person who cooks this comforting dish:

"May this bowl of chicken noodle soup bring you warmth, nourishment, and comfort when you need it most. As you savor each spoonful, may it remind you that you are not alone in your struggles. You have the strength within you to overcome any setback. This soup is a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there are people who care and are ready to offer their support. You are loved, you are capable, and you will rise above."

Here's a photo of the soul-soothing chicken noodle soup to inspire you:

Sarah’s Recipe

Remember, even in our lowest moments, the simple act of cooking and sharing a comforting dish has the power to heal and uplift our spirits. May this recipe bring you moments of solace, love, and strength.

advicehealinghappiness

About the Creator

Crystal McDaniel

"EngagingStoryteller - weaving tales that captivate the heart, ignite the imagination, and stir the soul. Making every word count, one story at a time.” 💜

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Crystal McDanielWritten by Crystal McDaniel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.