Motivation logo

Some of the things I've learned in my Forties...

40-years-old is not an end its a beginning

By Erika WoodPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Some of the things I've learned in my Forties...
Photo by Richard Burlton on Unsplash

As a forty something...OK 48 and yes, it is definitely closer to 50 than forty but it all feels the same. Yes, things hurt a little more and take longer to heal than they did 20 years ago, but this age is so much mellower than it was 20 years ago.

I listened to something a couple years ago and they were saying 40 is the downward slide of life. I stopped listening right there it was so depressing. When I turned 40 both my children were in college, I started college, I discovered hiking, and all of a sudden, I just didn't give a damn anymore.

My 20's I felt I had to prove I was an adult, my 30's I felt like I was an adult, my 40's have been I just don't care. I've mellowed and those things that I thought were important just aren't. Hitting 40 doesn't mean your old and it shows your intelligence to tell people they are.

Things I've learned in my 40's

  1. Don't sweat the small stuff because it only makes the big stuff bigger.
  2. The people looking at you when you walk into a room IF they are thinking things about you, it's in their head not yours, and it's their problem not yours don't let it stress you. Most of the time, I won't say always, people just don't care they are more worried about what you're thinking about them than actually thinking about you.
  3. If someone says something rude to you or asks an insensitive question about anything that is taboo. Something that makes people think really you actually asked that question or made that comment. They are just bad mannered, immature, or socially awkward. It is a wasted effort thinking about it, commenting, or even answering just walk away it's not worth it.
  4. Slow down and smell the roses. This resonates with me a lot more now. Because it means something now. I was on a hike recently and the last mile I stopped a couple of times and just listened and meditated. It was quiet, breezy, and calm. The air was crisp and clean. That drawing in of air was the metaphorical slowing down and smelling the roses. It is calming to listen even when you don't hear anything.
  5. When you are talking to someone, don't look them up and down it's rude and makes them feel self-conscious. You might think they don't notice; they do and if you need to make someone feel degraded by doing it you've got a problem. Look people in the eye give them your full attention. You might not like what they are saying, doing, or wearing but it's still bad mannered to do it.
  6. Learn how to give a great handshake one that is strong but not overpowering, humble but not weak, dry not sweaty, and back to number 5 look people in the eye. Instill trust in that handshake.
  7. Don't lie or exaggerate it sets the tone of what people think about you for the rest of your life.
  8. When you make a mistake claim it don't blame your mistake on someone else. You followed that crowd own it and dig yourself out.
  9. Don't judge until you've walked a mile in someone's shoes. You have not a clue what brought someone to where they are at. And I guarantee you someone out there is judging you the same way.
  10. Life is short and best lived on your own terms. You aren't like everyone else you are a unique person own it and love it.

Be real, be you there is only one of you and the world needs you it does not need a copy of a copy of a copy of someone else. Be you the person that is inside. Grab life and just live it to the fullest do it your way and screw whoever tells it's the wrong way. And BTW 40 is only the beginning...

how to
Like

About the Creator

Erika Wood

I am a student of life just wandering my way thru the maze and enjoying every turn. Visit my sight as I write about the state I live in and other random thoughts that come my way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.