Motivation logo

Self Love

Learning to love me!

By Kitanna CovingtonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Hi everyone this is me and I never post pictures of myself because of me being insecure about my looks, but it is time for me to take my life back and love myself for who I am! I hope that you guys enjoy my story please leave feedback!

There have been numerous accounts where someone has pointed fingers at me, talked about me, laughed at me, or even just made fun of the way that I looked to THEM. I have always wondered what it was about me that someone didn't like or why at school or in public I would be the laughing stock of the day? Was it because of my skin color? How about the texture of my hair? or maybe it was because of my weight! And for so many years I have always felt like I had to do something about the way that I looked and my approach to my everyday life when being around or involved with others. I would always cry myself to sleep, miss out on school, get nervous when I am in public, and even tried fasting before....completely insane choices I made just to feel like I fit in with everyone else. I think that the biggest issue when it comes to loving yourself a certain way or finding that confidence for yourself is 'society'! Society is filled with cruel, angry, insecure monsters that don't feel good about themselves, so they tend to take it out on someone else and make that person feel like they are worthless, useless, ugly, fat, or just don't fit in with the world! Because of other people I never went out publicly, because of other people I never dressed up for me, because of other people I never do my hair often, because of other people I am sad inside, because of other people I do not love my body, and because of other people I do not love my skin! I have allowed so many people talk me down from feeling wonderful and it hurts me to know that because of them I let myself go completely. It took me 9 years (I am now 19) to bottle up all of that and stop crying just because of some comments that someone made about me because of their insecurities! I didn't know what 'self love' was all about until I met my fiance... he makes me feel so beautiful, he makes me feel like I am the only woman that he sees, he makes me feel glamorous, and he makes me feel like I don't have to prove this world anything at all and I absolutely love him for that. I love him for showing me that all it takes 'is' love and devotion to what you want to do and if it leads you somewhere it will lead you where you need to be! So what I am saying is that don't ever allow someone to make you feel like you have to hate yourself, don't allow anyone to make you feel like you aren't worth it, that you can never be beautiful in your own body because at the end of the day...they aren't happy with themselves! Continue wearing that dress that you want to wear, continue making up your face, continue wearing heels, and continue loving you for who you are not for what someone wants you to be! Self love starts with 'you' and you can do what you want to do, so f*$k what someone says about you because you are beautiful inside and out...never let anyone break your confidence because of what they're going through! Do this and you can be all you want and more, and remember God loves you for you and I love you for you too. Thank You so much for taking the time out to read my story I have held this in for a long time now trying to find the right words to say, and I finally did it! Please like and comment what you think I would really appreciate it <3!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.