Humans logo

Pride Aside

So Apologize!

By Kitanna CovingtonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Hello everyone here is a new story of my journey! I do personalized quotes, poems & more just contact me via Instagram located in my photo Thank You and I hope that you guys enjoy!

When you're in a relationship we all know that an argument comes every now and then right? So what can we do to prevent them from happening or getting out of hand as they do? Well, I have learned that stopping an argument from happening is not about who can get their point across faster than the other one, and this also applies to when you are about to get into it with a stranger. The most common way to stop an argument from happening is always to "walk away and be the bigger person", and why that can be true it is not even close to "apologizing" when you were wrong! Lots of relationship arguments are often caused by saying the wrong thing, doing the wrong thing, or moving the wrong way! While sometimes people can be sensitive it is always best to just apologize when you were in the wrong and knew that you were. For instance, there is a "myth" (some people love to call it) that women never apologize for their actions rather they defend them, and I can agree with that statement for I am a woman and I have experienced multiple encounters like this with my husband as well. Women tend to feel like "If I apologize then he thinks that he is over me or thinks that he won", but in an all-natural sense why would a man feel superior just because you apologized for a mistake or argument that you started? I am not saying that women always start the argument, but women have always been sensitive creatures that have an aggressive side sometimes I believe we can all agree on that! What causes a woman to be that way? What can a woman do to stop being that way? Why does everything have to be about who won or lost? Well, first and foremost a woman can get this feeling when having to apologize for something that she started, and typically just feeling that a man is trying to be over here causes what I like to call a "guard", and this isn't a guard in relation to when someone has hurt you in the past and you can't trust anyone after that...no I'm talking about the kind of guard that makes her feel like she HAS to react a certain way for him to understand or hear her! I do this a lot, so I would definitely know and I am not saying that every woman does this, but any stubborn woman does this and acts like it is natural when it really isn't at all lol. A woman that uses the "Guard Technique" is a stubborn woman and a woman that has waay too much 'pride'. Pride is also another example of what can make an argument hard to get over especially if both of you have pride! Those with pride always feel like they have something to say that could end the argument/situation, but they choose not to because of feeling "weak or feeling like that person will have power over them." This should never be the case because it will only make matters worse when feeling like an argument is getting out of hand simply apologize, when you feel yourself about to yell apologize when you feel yourself walking away apologize. Apologizing for your actions or mistakes will go a long way in your relationship no matter if you are engaged (like me), just boyfriend/girlfriend, friends, family, co-workers, or even just strangers because no matter what it was about you guys may see each other again, so tell me is the argument worth it anyway? On top of apologizing remember to put your pride aside because 9/10 the argument could have been resolved without any conflicts. I learned that apologizing goes a long way from my husband who has helped me throughout that journey, so I am hoping to touch other stubborn women with that as well and allow them to see that arguing for no reason is not cute at all it just pushes him away and sooner or later you will see a dramatic change, so try to fix it while you can. What I can really say is if you truly love someone and want something long-term wouldn't you change for them? I know I will and have all for my husband because he has been with me through thick and thin, so I honestly owe him that much to change! So remember to apologize when you were wrong and you will see so many changes in the way you will be approached it doesn't hurt to TRY!!

I hope that you guys found this to be pretty helpful I do updates 2-3 times a day! I accept requests, so send something that you'd like to read on or need advice on I don't mind doing them! Please like/comment/share if you can, and again Thank You for taking the time out to read my stories stay up to date with new stories being posted every day! Have a Great Day you guys!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.