Motivation logo

See You Later, Lockdown!

Onto better days...

By Leigh HooperPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Here's to freedom, and better days ahead

So, we can all agree that lockdown is going on FOREVER. Quarantined life feels like the norm and social distancing is the talk of the town. And right now, I’m glad for it; it is keeping us a whole lot safer than if we were just mixing and mingling with each other during such crazy times.

But that doesn’t mean I like it. I miss family and friends, and I miss going to places that are not my place of work. I cannot wait for the day that I’m not an “essential worker”, I’m just an ordinary supermarket worker going about their day.

With that being said…let us roll into what I would do on the first day of lockdown-free life.

TO DO LIST:

- see my family

- see the girls

- go for a walk that isn’t near my house

- go on a date

- sleep knowing that life is back to normal

SEE MY FAMILY

Luckily, a lot of my family live lite rally ten minutes down the road. The sad thing I have to see them from a two metres distance or hear them through a phone call. I can’t wait for the day I can invite them in the house and make them a cup of tea. It’s the simple things about spending time with family that I love the most.

I’m such a family orientated person that it’s really difficult to know that family time has been put on hold. No more summer barbecues or birthday gatherings (my boyfriend turned 21 the other day and the best I could do was throw a two-person party!), or even just a nice catch up. It’s all been put on hold so seeing my family is at the top of the list .

SEE THE GIRLS

My gal pals

Okay so me and my girls are getting brunch. Classic white girl thing to do, but it is fun as heck. And you can guarantee I’m getting pancakes because they are delicious! If you’re looking for a good brunch place, The Cosy Club is where you want to be!

Over the lockdown period the girls and I FaceTime once a week and do a weekly catch up of everything that has happened. Honestly, not much happens. It usually goes like “I’ve been to work”, “I’ve been on a bike ride!” and “I’m bored of uni work” BUT the principle of catching up and staying in touch is there, which I’m super grateful for. But I just can’t wait to actually see them in person and give them a hug.

GO FOR A WALK THAT ISN’T NEAR MY HOUSE

But Leigh, you live near a forest,” you say, “surely you can go on lots of walks!" Yes, I can go on lots of walks. But there is only so much of the forest you can walk before you know every hidden path and have seen every single tree.

there's a whole world out there!

I want to get in the car and drive. I don’t care if it’s the beach, or a forest the other side of the country, but I just want to look at different scenery. Don’t get me wrong, I’m super grateful for what’s available to me literally outside my backyard, but I love exploring. I want to go on an adventure and see a place I’ve never seen before. The first day of lockdown will be the most glorious adventure ever!

GO ON A DATE

Like any other normal couple, me and my boyfriend like to go out for meals. Whether it’s simply just McDonald’s or a fancy restaurant, we love being lazy and getting other people to cook our meals! We’re both such foodies that it’s only fair the first night of freedom we get dolled up and go grab something to eat.

If you live in the area of Southampton, England and you love Italian then I would definitely recommend La Tavernetta.

They make the best carbonara I have EVER tasted and I would die to get my home-made carbonara taste the same but, as my boyfriend kindly pointed out, mine are only “a 7 out of 10”. So after his harsh words, I can’t wait to go back to this place and taste a 10/10 carbonara!

SLEEP KNOWING THAT LIFE IS BACK TO NORMAL

I know when my head hits that pillow I will be content, but exhausted. After getting used to doing nothing for most of my days, the excitement of being able to do everything again will surely tire me out. But, when that day comes I will not be complaining.

I cannot wait to fall asleep feeling happy and healthy.

-

I wish you all the best, I’m praying everyone reading this is in good health, and I hope you all enjoy the day that we are all waiting for! Until then, stay safe all.

healing
2

About the Creator

Leigh Hooper

A writer in her twenties with a head full of ideas and a room full of books✨

My Instagram handle is: @leighooper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.