Motivation logo

Seconds, Minutes and Hours

A guide to a writers self care

By Sindy Leah FitzPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Seconds, Minutes and Hours
Photo by RetroSupply on Unsplash

Sit down and write. This is my new motto for setting the intention to write more. Express more, by being brave enough to put myself out there with the eyes of the world on me. For that is exactly what you see, judge, and reflect upon. It is me, my work, my thoughts, my time and energy. The words spin and swirl and at times sputter onto the page. I have great expectations for myself and this also comes with the crushing blow when I can not complete my tasks I have so diligently set. As I think about the words I craft in my mind the stories I weave and so much do I need to place them in your view. The time escapes me and I walk past my keyboard for the hundredth time. Is it fear, or lack of commitment? Neither I think, its more an absence of self care. Putting so many things and people before my own selfish needs. A line drawn between what really deserves my time and my attention.

So I beseech you to hold me accountable to my word. When I say to you I will find time for my passion and I will sit at this desk and write be it a masterpiece or a mangled grouping of words. I will write them down because in doing so I will show you that I care about myself. That I care for you, and I will allow you into my mind with all its precious unkempt secrets that are neither perfect nor disastrously avail. In hopes that they speak to you, that you can feel my intent and longing for you to find meaning in my expression. At times I wish to thrill you and even cause you to sleep with a chill in your spine. To laugh uncontrollably and feel so deeply loss and love. My main purpose is to find a connection with you a quietly invisible and anonymous kinship with your mind, your soul. A deep intricate part of your being that I have had the the exclusive right to know you as you have learned to know me back. A gift as a reader I have shared with so many masterpieces and mangled words that have touched me in a way that is impossible to express.

My words become our words as a community of writers and readers alike we share something together that brings us closer than any physical touch can satisfy. We give of ourselves on such a humanly flawed level, that it not only speaks to you deep within, but allows me to heal and empower myself. A self care that not only is needed but is required for my own existence to feel accomplished and fulfilled. So with this intention and commitment to you and and my own beguile to this craft. I offer you my openness, my queries, my subjugation that I am going to rip away my justifications that have held me captive. My thoughts and words will be as open to you as to myself from this moment forward. The stories waiting to be created as well as the many stories standing in the abyss of the unpublished awaiting edits. The stories that are nothing but titles and ideas will come to fruition this year. With all the creation, the worlds, the selfless writers bestow onto us I have great moments of encouragment as I emmerse myself in your tales and hope I can touch a bit of your souls as well. Here's to a New Year of excitement and wonder, clarity and confusion with all the blissful chaos that comes along with it. Cheers! to all the writers and readers who are part of our world.

goals
1

About the Creator

Sindy Leah Fitz

"Everyone is different and that is what makes everyone special." However, change through curiosity is the true mark of character. Let's explore all that is to be uncovered. Join me to look at life through as many lenses as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.