Motivation logo

Screaming Target

Setting And Hitting Targets And Goals

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2022
24
Screaming Target

Introduction

This is a nothing post. I always feel if I tell people I have done well that I am bragging and showing off. I wrote pieces for my 150th, 200th, 500th and 600th posts and for my 3,000th read and here I am again talking about numbers.

It is always good to have goals and targets and for Vocal, my next three targets are a thousand posts, twenty thousand reads and five hundred dollars from the Ambassadors Program. This has been the most lucrative part of my engagement with Vocal and you can read what I do with it below.

Where Do I Go From Here

This is a post I will probably only share on Twitter as making money on Vocal is frowned upon in some quarters. This is also a post in my run-up to my 666th Vocal story. I suppose that is therefore another target to aim for, This one will be hit soon unless I suddenly pop my clogs.

Re the money I think everybody signed up with the thought that they could win one of the lucrative Vocal Challenges, I certainly did but then discovered that was highly unlikely. for many reasons, not least being the sheer number of entries into the challenges, though one day I would love to be a runner-up.

Although I am very disorganised, have no discipline, and suffer from intense imposter syndrome and paranoia, I still set things to aim for, especially if I am trying to help and be there for others.

Keeping On Keeping On

Even this post is going towards hitting a goal. I know so many people who get writer's block, or even when they have ideas can't put pen to paper, or rather finger to keyboard, but I always manage to come up with something.

I listen to music, look at art, read books, go for a walk, anything to get the little grey cells doing what they are supposed to do and eventually something comes out. I do sometimes go for periods not writing but if I feel like writing then I just let it flood out.

When I came out of hospital I didn't write for two weeks, although I did let ideas pile up in my head ready for when I actually hit a keyboard once more. It’s always good to have methods to make release your creativity.

Targets For All

Sometimes getting out of bed is a target or goal, catching a bus or getting to work. Targets do give you a reason to do things. Some things I find a hassle, like actually getting up in the morning, then getting washed, shaving and having a shower. All of those are things that I have to do, so effectively become goals or targets for me.

Write down a few of your own, they can become a template for your creative endeavours. You always have to make a start and sometimes setting your goal is that start you need to make.

Concluding This Screaming Target

I don't know if anyone else hits this problem, but once I have set a target, it mentally starts screaming to me if I don’t work towards satisfying it. At the moment the target is quiet but it may start making noise in my brain at any time, although this piece will keep it a little quiet.

I will leave you with Knowledge and Numbers by the band "Screaming Target". Enjoy your weekend while I slave away writing for you.

self help
24

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • U.Rdiyaabout a year ago

    Inspirational Article! Thanks for sharing.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Great article to re-share on this Monday morning! I have lots to do - I need to choose my targets for today & the week. :)

  • This is great advice and super inspirational. Thanks for sharing!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Cool content Mike! I know it may seem repetitive of me but I do WUV this side of you! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Keep on keeping on is definitely my motto too. Good work!

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Omg my stories scream inside my head too until I get them out too! Great job on all that you do to support other writers too!

  • This is such a inspirational post! Well done!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Numbers make the world go round 😉

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • I love this. Keep being yourself, make goals, and wear a smile on your face. Whatever works for u is nothing to be ashamed of or let anyone take u down on. Keep it up!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    "Pop my clogs" Lol. That's great.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Keep on keeping on ❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.