Motivation logo

RIP KOBE BRYANT

I didn’t know what to do, I didn’t know how to respond, so I did the only thing I knew I was good at, I wrote about it, posting it to the Internet.

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Today was a typical Sunday Day. I woke up to a bright sunny day, a tad cold, but not freezing 🥶🥶. Which is crazy for January/February....

So seeing as we are experiencing such enormously good weather, I thought man, let’s not throw this opportunity away; I just gotta take this chance to get some time in outside...

I wasn’t surprised when the phone ran at 9:45am. Ya see my west side mom (Lisa Suhay!!) who makes a career out of walking 10-15 miles around the city of Norfolk (WestSide) generally calls asking if I’d like to join her. Not to mention we have this deal where we try to do these walks at least once a week. So I woke straight when Siri informed me “Walk Suhay was calling....

She (Lisa Suhay) was super amped about walking today. Momma Suhay had a ton of both calories, and emotions to burn off this morning, which she against my will told me. I heard about her experiences the night before with satanic people, and how she’d literally took them on as they were ripping up the Holy Bible, eating Holy communion crackers and juice, and spiting it on the floor.

I like to believe nothing much in this world scares me, but when ya start dealing in satanic stuff, death to the church, and spitting in the face of God, ya boy is out!!

So that said, we squashed the convo focusing on our walk. We began at what norfolk calls the Hage bridge, walking down to The Cure for drinks, then on our way to what would be a 5 mile walk. The walk gave me a view of Old Towne Portsmouth, taking me on a ride of the ERT Ferry⛴ which is also never done before. It was a beautiful experience, one I would never forget, and one who wished to saver my entire days.

As I was trying to marinate on what happened, my Awesomesauce day that I mentioned before. As I was posting the events of today I learned of Kobe Bryant’s death... Post after post, started popping up making me go Holy F*ck I don’t wanna see this.

I don’t wanna be sad, I don’t wanna have anything to do with sadnesses. Why did this have to f*ck up my day? DUDE, What am I supposed to do about todays podcast? It’s not like I can just move on right? It’s not like I can just act as if this didn’t happen?

So I did the only thing i knew to do, I sat down and recorded a new podcast; calling and asking my buddies to help me process through this tragedy....

Today’s podcast wasn’t about a man, but rather about those who he effected. It is directed to those who have to find away to deal, who must somehow heal. My thoughts and Prayers 🙏🏾 are with you...

I am posting this podcast AGAIN not to get play off his situation. If I can have a moment of honesty, I would have rather not talked about it at all. I struggled with the question of could I just move on? Could I just keep the schedule, my day of posts the same? Then I thought? How would I look? Trying to just by pass what has happened??

So here we are, damned if I do, damned if I don’t. May those who read this post, and hear today’s podcast, find strength to deal not just with the death of Kobe Bryant, but with the challenges you face. The ones which shall never make it to our notifications, are newsfeeds, the ones which only live on the bulletin board of your soul...

(https://anchor.fm/erikdeseanbarrett/episodes/059---RIP-Kobe-Bryant-eaekns)

🌹🌷🥀💔💔 - EDB

healing
1

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.