Motivation logo

Pay Attention

“Pay attention to whom your energy increases and decreases around because that’s the universe giving you a hint of who you should embrace or stay away from.” @Hearts143Quotes-Instagram

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Pay Attention
Photo by Cassandre Boyer on Unsplash

Who are you paying attention to?

Often, we pay attention to the wrong things in life. This can and will be a problem if you are not careful. Knowing the difference when you allow yourself to pay attention to little things going on around, you can save you a lot of hurt and pain in the long run. Often, it can even save your life. Who we pay attention to is important because we tend to entertain the wrong people, places, and things then wonder why we can’t get our lives back on track. Now I do understand that the world is a big place to live in. Simultaneously, as humans, we have to be mindful of things that could pull us in the wrong direction if we succeed in life.

What are you paying attention to?

There are loads of things out here in this world that can and will take your attention off of what you are trying to do. If you have goals set in place and stick to those goals, and stay focused, you will succeed in even the smallest things you are trying to accomplish. There have been times that I have been paying attention to the wrong people, places, and things. I had to reevaluate everything and everyone that was influencing me, regardless of their intentions were good or bad. Now, I can take out the good and leave the bad because I can see things clearer now. The ex-boyfriends that I had were never good for me; I mean, they were good at the time because they were only supposed to be in my life for a season. I was making the mistake of trying to make them permanent when they had no business being permanent in the first place. It is funny now looking back on those ex-relationships because they never deserved my love, trust, loyalty, or friendship. They always wanted to take advantage of me because they knew that I came from an abusive background. They assumed that if they try to install fear, loneliness, bitterness, hatred, and a whole list of other things will keep me around while they go out and do their dirt. None of my exes counted on I chose to live my life without them in it.

What are you allowing to take your attention?

I would allow other people to influence how I talked, looked, behaved, and felt about myself. Allowing these people to do this affected my self-esteem in more negative ways than I can count. It feels good to know that you can change anything you feel like changing. You can change people, places, things, and your mental environment when you choose for you, not for someone else. If others are not happy with the choices that you make for you, then you have the right to cancel them out of your life because they are not adding value to you. All they are doing is taking away from you, so my question for today is this: what are you seriously allowing to break and take your attention?

Most of my attention was being taken away from the things that I love to do, like writing, knitting, crochet, reading, listening to music, and cooking. I lost sight of what is important to me, and now that I have refocused my thoughts and physical health, I know that I can do anything.

Thanks for reading:

Could you click on the links below? Check out my portfolio, and donations are welcome.

https://writers.work/theresaevans

https://medium.com/@marietheresa42

https://twitter.com/Theresa03735360

https://www.instagram.com/marietheresa42/

facebook.com/theresa.evans.56027

https://vocal.media/authors/theresa-evans

healing
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.