Motivation logo

Patience and Time

The Two Most Powerful Warriors

By Jeff TurnerPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I think one of the most sought-after methods of thinking that people lack most is this – patience!

People want to see results and they want them immediately. What happens is you get to that level where you are beaming, your energy is through the roof. You are pumped, working hard and doing what you need to reach your goals.

A few weeks go by without results. So you go harder, work harder, keep yourself pumped and a few more weeks go by, with very little or no results. Now you feel discouraged. So you sit back wondering if you made the right decision.

If it is a career change, you’ve gone on several interviews without any callbacks. If you are starting a company, you are pumping out product or service, but still not seeing profit. If you are losing weight, you are eating differently and exercising with little results. If you are trying to get promoted, you work your butt off but feel like there is no recognition.

Patience is most definitely a virtue. If you are looking to achieve results, they come with time. That is what makes it so difficult. Patience and time walk hand-in-hand. But trust me when I tell you that time is the ONLY thing that will help you achieve results. In order to get there, you have to have patience and not give up.

This is where most people fail. It’s not because of time. Time is forever. It won’t change. But learning to have patience is a challenge. Learning to be patient and allow the course to be run, that’s the REAL challenge.

I can’t tell you how many times early on I attempted many new ventures. I went at them hardcore for several weeks. When I wasn’t getting the results immediately or right away, I immediately gave up and either quit (failure at its finest) or decided to try something else. I never put in 100% effort for a long period of time in order to see true results.

If it were weight loss, I would wait four to five weeks. If there was a slight change, I’d say, “There must be something wrong with this program. I’m going to change and try something new.” Eventually, I would give everything a very short window and if I wasn’t seeing the results, I’d quit!

This has happened to me throughout my life. I’ve tried so many ventures and after a few short weeks or a few short months, I’d through in the towel. I truly FAILED, not because it didn’t work, but because I didn’t give it the time and patience to allow it to work and I just through the towel on it. That’s all on me. Had I just believed in it long enough and kept at it and continued my efforts and concerned myself with the habit of continuation versus the habit of quick results, I would have been a success a long time ago. But like so many, I had to learn the hard way.

“The definition of insanity is doing something over and over again the same way but expecting a different result.”

Remember while you are patiently waiting for results, you have to continue to put in the hard work. If a person is looking to lose fifty pounds and only spends four weeks and realizes they only lost five pounds, they might be inclined to give up because they aren’t seeing the results they expected.

BE PATIENT!

DO NOT GET DISCOURAGED!

EVERYTHING COMES IN TIME!

You will want to quit. You will feel like throwing in the towel. You will feel like, “What the heck am I doing this for if I’m not going to see results?”

“But I’ve been working my butt off non-stop for several weeks/months and still have yet to see what I’m looking to see?”

Be patient, my friend. Times like those are trying times. You still have to be patient. Don’t let discouragement cause you to become defeated. Sit back and reassess. Find what works and what doesn’t. Look it over carefully because that is part of the hard work you’ve put in. Not every venture that leads down the road to success will be met with a path clear of obstacles. You still have to work hard, but also work smart. And don’t let all the hard work you put in go to waste.

Trust me, there is nothing worse than waiting for results. What takes away from all the waiting is the time you put in to achieve those results. You ever finish and look at a clock and say, “Wow, I’ve been doing this for five hours already?” Time flies when you’re having fun. Granted, this is work. However, if you love doing what you are doing, then it is partially work. Because you enjoy it. Isn’t that a great reason to keep your patience and continue forward? Isn’t that enough reason to keep you from getting discouraged?

You have to look beyond what short amount of time has passed and continue to move forward. You have to let go of discouragement and keep making attempts to get the results in order to reach your goals.

There is a method in the engineering world called the brute-force method, practiced by Thomas Edison. It is simply the method of trial and error. You continue at something until you get the results you want. If it doesn’t work, you find another method. If that doesn’t work, then another method. You continue to do so until you find one that does work. “Genius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration,” Edison said. Everyone has ideas, dreams and goals. But the genius isn’t in the thought, which is a relatively small percentage; the genius is in the work that it requires to get there. As with anything, it takes time – daily time and overtime, meaning that the daily time you put in will achieve you the results you desire over time. Please write that down on your pad:

THE DAILY TIME YOU PUT IN WILL ACHIEVE THE RESULTS YOU DESIRE OVER TIME.

Be patient. Don’t get discouraged. You will see results. You will reach your goals. But don’t think that hard work alone is enough. You have to be willing to understand that if a lot of time has passed and you haven’t seen your desired results, find out what isn’t working. Go back to the 1%, reassess, and then take a different path with that 99% perspiration. Ultimately, You. Will. Get. There! You may have to go back to the 1% several times before you get there. But I promise, you will!

This is your life. This is your time. You owe it to yourself to get the best from you possible.

Your best self is waiting to be discovered. You have one amazing life so make it the best life possible!

It’s time to ignite!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Jeff Turner

Hello fellow readers and writers. I'm a single dad. My daughter is in her last year of nursing school. And I've realized that love writing, having recently completed my first novel (8 years in the making). I hope to share more with you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.