Motivation logo

Our Light

Finding Our True Selves

By Marianna LPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Don't ever let anyone take away your light. Your light defines you. It is what makes you you, creates the beautiful smile that brightens the world. Let your light shine, as bright as the sun, no matter what they say. They are all jealous of your light.

I've let multiple people into my life. Most of them were appreciative of the light, others inspired. However there were some that envied it. They wanted it all for themselves. Not allowing anyone else to take over. They were the thieves that brought the darkness in my life. They ruined my happiness, left me to die in sorrow. They thought this light would bring great things to their lives, however it brought nothing. While they spent days on end trying to understand it, I grew stronger, creating an even brighter light. This time, however, I built strong bulletproof walls around it. Creating layers and layers of thick metal, I made sure nobody would take this away again.

After years of protecting myself from the terrors of the world, I found people who helped charge my light. At first I feared to show them my power, questioning their integrity. However, after extensive nights of laughter and tears, I found my light seeping through the cracks and allowing for them to see parts of me that I have never let anyone see. My laughter grew real, my smile reached my eyes. As I let some of the walls fall from the barrier, I found that some were, in fact, thieves. Or so I thought. With experiences that should have never happened happen, my heart broke. My mind going through multiple outcomes, going back to before. I feared that maybe they were too good to be true. Maybe as my true self came out they began to regret ever wanting to know me. Looking back, I know my insecurities got the best of me. My past was starting to haunt me and that is what I ever regret allowing. I learned from my mistakes, and am now facing my fears.

You should never live your life in fear. Live in the now, never letting your past return, letting your walls define you. That is not you. You are right now. You are not before or the future but now. You are who you allow yourself to be, and if you let your past mistakes take over you, then you've never really found yourself. Live with your light shining, no barriers, no walls, no locks or keys, just your light, out in the open for everyone to see. And if they don't appreciate that, well fuck them, because we are all amazing.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.