Motivation logo

Operation Read Until You Bleed.

Read everything. Words are life.

By Atlas ThunderbauxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Operation Read Until You Bleed.
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Hello. My name is not Atlas Thunderbaux, and I would like to introduce to you the best gateway to a million potential futures. Reading books. Reading anything that interests you. Reading full stop.

Yes, it’s that simple.

My Past Futures.

During my youth, I read a lot. It started with Green Eggs and Ham and The Magic Faraway Tree. Evolved to Anamorphs and Goosebumps and then to the holy grail of my adolescent development – Harry Potter. I had creative futures ahead of me based on imaginations and insights into the world at large; filtered through the adventures of these fictional characters we all love. However, once Voldemort was struck down and Harry, Ron, Hermione, and I hit their late teens – it stopped. Reading wasn't a priority anymore.

I don’t recall reading many books in the years after. Friends, work, and alcohol took front and centre. That time was directionless and void of purpose. Plenty of fun, failures and lessons learned, but zero focus on what lay ahead. The point is, time spent not reading or seeking knowledge of any sort were the times that proved the least progressive and mundane. The potential futures ahead of me were uninspired, unfocused and minimal.

The Spark that changed it.

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck by Mark Manson.

Page six of this book contained a spark so powerful I haven’t been the same since. It introduced me to the notion of the feedback loop from hell. It seems so simple to me now, but at the time I was trapped in it so hard I couldn't see anything except the compounding misery.

It goes like this. We feel bad. So we feel bad for feeling bad. Which makes us feel even worse. This continues on and on in a cycle until you are focused on everything you think is plaguing your life. A miserable loop that consumes our thoughts day in and day out. Without being made aware of this loop, I was destined to dwell within it forever.

Once I broke this miserable loop, I found myself in a reading loop. Discovering more books, that lead to more books and so on and so forth. I found myself with an abundance of different futures ahead because each book sparked something new inside me. A new concept to try. A new idea to ponder. A new revelation that brought me higher levels of self-awareness.

The Potential Futures

Reading the Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck was the gateway book that brought more books on self-development into my life. Hell, the topic of self-development and positive thinking weren't topics I considered exploring for the longest time simply because I was too stubborn and in denial there were issues in my life in the first place. Just taking that first step into self-improvement increased the futures presented to me. It made me seek others who studied and shared their tools for a better and happier life. Each new idea added something to explore, and thus, a new potential future. This new onslaught of knowledge in my life became known as Operation Read Until You Bleed, and it is a saving grace I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

Your Futures.

Please know I'm not calling out those that don't read books. Some people don’t want to or may not have the time. That’s why I am here. That's what has inspired this blog. So I can help pass those sparks of wisdom onto you. My experience with this book is something I want to give to someone. I want to spark something in you that spawns a multitude of richer futures.

I ask you. Ponder this feedback loop from hell. Are you feeling bad about something? Is that making you feel worse? Write it down or say it out loud. Knowing is the key to escaping it.

Feel free to share your thoughts here.

Thank you for your time.

Atlas Thunderbaux

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Atlas Thunderbaux

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.