Motivation logo

One calendar at a time.

a short rant

By Lily AnnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
One calendar at a time.
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I'm not exacly sure where to start with this one, I am more of a person who writes short stories, novels, and chapter books. But the more I do things the more I come to understand that I don't know even half of what I am doing, am I going to continue writing books? am I going to work hard so I can stop working that 9-5 and finally do something that I feel I was more born to do?

With this came the idea of starting something with ETSY, yes, I started my own etsy shop, I decided to go out of my comfort zone and start a shop that I knew absolutely nothing about how to do. With that came the thought "What exactly am I going to sell?" Then it came to me, digital items, such as planners, calendars, bookmarks, phone backgrounds, and many other things. (Speaking of which I am thinking of making a digital notebook.) Anyway! To start off my adventure I started doing research online for "How to start making digital planners." This led me absolutely nowhere and I got lost at something that should have been a very simple thing to start, Then I decided to start out on PowerPoint. Ah yes, Powerpoint, the app that I use to make videos and slideshows. Who would have thought that it could also be used to make planners and whatnot?

To make the long story short, I started out making planners, and selling them on etsy, yes I got a few views but nothing hooked. So I started making calendars, this also did not get anyone hooked. So to come up with more ideas I started making bookmarks to which again, nothing. So I started making phone backgrounds, which sold to one person. Working hard, day and night, while working 8-5:30 and doing college courses I continued on making things that have yet to be sold. "What could I possibly do that I haven't done before?" To answer this question, I started a Facebook page. I also connected my shop to my Instagram, Pinterest and started making videos. And yet still, nothing has seemed to work my views went from getting many a day to getting nothing a day, What could I possibly be doing wrong? I advertise I put items up for sale new items each month. I started a new bulletin board kit, I continuously create new products, I promote, I give out sales and yet I get zero sales.

Now that I got that rant out of the way, back to the writing. So as I was saying I am known more for my writing in fiction books, fantasy novels. I have had writer's block for about two months now, so what happened was I was writing my book called rain for awhile now but before that I was writing a book called running through the rain which got denied for a sign up, anyway so I wanted to work on that book again later as it got denied ad I was hoping that if I started in on a new book it would give me a chance to try again with a different book, and I completely forgot about my running through the rain book and focused totally on the current book I was now writing at the time, long story short I reconnected with the running through the rain book and I am now working through writers block because for some strange unknown reason my mind wants to work on two different books at the same time, so I tried that, I tried to work on two books at the same time. This ended very badly and now I am unsure of exacly what to do. Do I finish one book and start the other again, do I finish one and start over with the other?

I can tell you what I will not do, I will not give up.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.