Motivation logo

Nonna's Diary

Short story

By Sofya I.Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

March 31st, 2020

Dear diary!

I hate parties! And just as much as I hate parties, I hate being photographed. Yesterday was probably the worst day in my entire life! Nothing could have gone more wrong! And it’s all because of the stupid costume party that Gaia dragged me to!

Now, let me tell you the story from the very beginning:

Yesterday morning I woke up from the sound of ringing doorbell, which I knew did not promise any good... I opened the door and guess who was there, standing right in front of me with the widest smile a human being could possibly have? It was nobody else but Gaia herself. She held two gigantic bags overflowing with something very variegated that at first glance looked like clown's costume topped with glitter, sequins and fur. The bags smelled like an old closet. The smell reminded me of my great grandma whose clothes always smelled exactly like that, a bit wet, with some notes of oatmeal and dust.

- What is this?

I asked her with my eyes wide open.

- Our costumes of course!

Gaia stared at me as I was still wearing my night shirt and my hair was all tangled. Her face reflected all possible emotions, starting from awe all the way to hysterical excitement and a pinch of worry.

- Why aren’t you yet dressed? The party starts within a few hours! And don’t even try to resist! You ARE coming! I will leave one of those for you. There must be something for you to wear…

Gaia pointed out to one of the bags she brought.

- And please, do not disappoint me…

- But...

I tried to resist.

But the very next second I noticed something that made me roll my eyes and make a deep sigh, Gaia was about to use her famous "puppy eyes" trick that she used every time she wanted to convince somebody. The trick worked always and on everybody, and even I - the person who has known Gaia for years and who knows all of her tricks by heart could not resist the "puppy eyes" as it was the heavy artillery in the hole variety of her secret weapons.

- Fine…

Said I and made another deep sigh. Gaia clapped her hands and hugged me.

- I knew I can rely on you girl!

She said, smiled at me one more time, took one of the bags and left.

Now I was left all alone, with the bag full of old smelly clothes that were supposed to be my costume, disappointed but not surprised. I took the piece of cloth that was on the top of the bag with my two fingers and turned up my nose.

- Alright... Alright!

I said to myself.

- If they want me to come all dressed up, I will! But if they are willing to have some fun at the party, let me do so as well!

And a nasty grin lightened up my face the way it does when a genius n enrolls to my head.

At 17.35, just like it was agreed, I showed up at James's house. The same second, I stepped in, everybody’s heads turned at once. Now I stood there with dozens of faces staring at me lightened with amazement and delight. I leaned on the doorway and smiled with the same grin I smiled with at home. I felt like a clown, but it didn’t matter. The revenge was sweet as ever. As my costume I wore a princess dress with my head being topped with a horny Viking helmet. I wore black tight stockings with a flowery pattern on them that was barely visible but still made an effect that added the much needed "something" to my so-called costume. As my footwear I wore deep green colored slippers with fluffy balls in the front that were actually pretty comfortable and I was even thinking of purchasing something similar as soon I would get out from the stupid party. My waist was detailed with a blue glittery pouch. In my hands I held an English flag.

I did everything that was in my powers to create the much desired shocking effect and you know what? I succeeded! Knowing that the main theme of the party was black and white, my costume fulfilled every single checkpoint from the list of "101 Ways To Break The B&W Dresscode" created by myself.

I heard whispers and giggle, somebody even hiccuped but I still stood proudly in the doorway, facing towards the crowd. Even though the room was dark with only the party lights lighting up the room from several corners and filling the space with colorful stripes and figures that rotated around and hit me in the face from time to time making my appearance even more hilarious.

My mission there was done. And as I was just about to turn around to step out from the front door I heard somebody from the crowd say:

- Now this is a costume!

At that very moment I knew - the showup was successful!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Sofya I.

Creative writer | Novelist | Essay writer

Contact me: [email protected]

Instagram: sofyaivanovva

Writing with passion in one hand and a cup of coffee in another

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.