Motivation logo

New Year's Resolution Solutions

Happy 2021, Everyone!

By Heather Mitchell ManheimPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Goodbye, 2020! It was a challenging year, to say the least. While we all breathe a collective sigh of relief, I like to look at the coming year and see if there are changes I can make. It is interesting, though, because nothing magically transforms just because the calendar switches from December 31, 2020 to January 1, 2021. Yet, the symbolism of it, the beginning of a new year, and the idea of starting anew is alluring enough to set goals to become a happier and healthier person.

Many people, including myself, were anxious to make 2021 a more fulfilling year than last. In many ways, I think we felt “cheated” out of last year. We gave up time with our families, friends, and canceled travel. Many found themselves unemployed, and too many ended up in a health crisis or, in the worst circumstances, lost their life. It’s no wonder that many want to reclaim this coming year as something more satisfying and make it the best we can.

A part of making it a good year is letting go of 2020 and acknowledging the positive things that also happened that year. The good things could have been learning a new language, finishing a project, or spending more time with your family. Another part of moving past 2020 is making resolutions that can positively impact our lives, health, and communities in the coming year.

When making resolutions, the place I like to start is with The Golden Rule. I always try and treat people as I would want to be treated. But, at the start of a new year, I like to make sure there are no unresolved grievances between myself and anybody else. I want to make sure that I am doing what I can to be a positive and helpful person, living with compassion, love, and kindness in my heart. Those things should never go out of style, no matter what day of the year it is, but self-assessing is also never a bad idea. I also feel if I treat others as well as I can, it will help me be happier. I think being a positive impact in both the community I live in and in the larger world will invariably benefit my own life.

For specific resolutions, I think I always start with trying to eat better. This year, my husband and I decided to be vegetarian for January. It has not gone perfectly! But that is okay. I think small steps are still steps in the right direction. The hardest part was changing how I shop at the grocery store and cook. What helped me make adjustments was before I went to the store, I started making a menu for the week on what meals I would cook. Then, I made a list of all the ingredients that I needed. When I went to the store, I was less likely to forget something. When I went to cook, I already had a meal plan instead of having to come up with a recipe. The other thing I did to assist with this diet was to modify the meals we already enjoyed. For instance, when I made lasagna, I used roasted vegetables to fill the layers instead of meat. When I made gyros, I ground chickpeas down with gyro seasonings. I then flattened the mixture onto a cookie sheet and roasted it in the oven. After cooked, it was sliced and put in pita bread. (Gyro seasoning can be altered to fit your tastes and dietary needs, but it typically has salt, pepper, dried oregano, dried parsley, dried thyme, garlic powder, ground chili, ground cinnamon, ground coriander, and ground cumin).

My other specific resolution is to exercise more. This is also difficult and has not gone exactly the way I hoped, because, to be honest, I do not like working out! I like to walk, but that is not very good for burning calories or toning muscle. How I have rectified this is to try and find workouts that are more fun. I have tried to learn some new dances, like hula dancing. It is still a work in progress, but there are so many different workouts online now, many for free or low cost. I know if I keep looking, I’ll find exactly what I’m looking for. The key is to not give up and remind myself that I am stronger than I was yesterday, and I will be even stronger tomorrow.

My last resolution is more generalized. While I try to make changes in the new year, I also try to remain cognizant that things do not always go perfectly. I know that there will be mistakes and setbacks. However, being human, I know it’s important to forgive not only those around me but also forgive myself. It is not always easy to show myself the same grace and forgiveness I show others, but it is an important thing to learn and implement. I know that life ebbs and flows, and I may need to make adjustments or revise some resolutions. I may need to add new ones. After all, the nature of resolutions implies moving forward. If I continuously live with past regrets and wishing I had done certain things differently, no matter what resolutions I make, I’ll never actually move forward.

Those are some of the things I am trying to focus on and improve in the new year. No matter what resolutions you make, I’m wishing you all love, hope, and joy and want the year 2021 to be a happy, healthy, and prosperous one for you all!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Heather Mitchell Manheim

Heather studied Creative Writing and Journalisim in school, and has been writing and reading since she was a child. When she isn't writing, she loves to travel, bake/cook, watch classic movies and photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.