Motivation logo

Narcissism | My profound reason; to walk away…

There are some life lessons that can only be taught by walking away...

By Erin NicholsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

it's your chance to hold on to your power.Over the years, I wasted many hours of my life trying to defend myself from narcissistic people. Until, the day, I finally stopped it. Now, at the age of 27. A lot of therapy, change, and lessons learned. I have learned so much more about the phycology of myself, and others. I no longer feel the need to explain myself. My actions do. I hold myself accountable when I am in the wrong but I do not expect others to.

“Narcissistic personality disorder (NPD) can typically be characterized by a distorted self-image, intense emotions, intense love for self, and an exaggerated sense of superiority. Self-esteem, self-focus, self-importance, etc., are a few terms which best define a narcissist.”-@psychologenie

Grab your tea, and I’ll dive right into why the profound reason you should never apologize to a narcissist…

Through my teenage years, I felt lost. Enduring narcissistic abuse from my childhood. Then, the combination of the long list of unrealistic cult expectations. It’s no wonder, my life had taken a sharp path towards hell.

After, many years of therapy, learning, and changing my own behaviors. The deeper my insight had expanded to bring me to this place.

See, over the weekend… A situation arose where two narcissists were extremely intoxicated and making poor choices around a child. The oldest, one being the smartest person in the room is completely responsible for what happens under her roof. The situation not only put my health at risk but also my mental health too. While running the risk of potentially psychologically damaging the child. Through, their poor choice making.

I immediately left the situation and ran home as quickly as possible. Haven, already meditated and work out prior to the day. I felt completely calm but not happy. I realized. I would wait, to address the situation when all parties were sober.

Then the next morning, I gave her a phone call to speak about what happened. I was told the typical response from a narcissist. She said,“ I need to mind my own business and it's none of my business what happens under her roof.”

We’ve had this talk before…

Instead, of feeling upset. I took a breath, in. I allowed my anger to settle at my feet. I realize, after years of arguing there are no solutions to words. The words, seem to fade as if a dissipating cloud of smoke and all you are left with is a sheer feeling of unease in your gut and more problems.

I was not given a choice that chose but I am choosing now. My words made never hold meaning towards narcissistic tendencies but my actions do. I chose, not to argue. I spoke, with ease I held my ground and explained what, I am willing and not willing to put up with. Everything, else. Needs no words. My sheer actions of me leaving spoke of my truth to myself. It is my expression of groundedness. I can hold, my head up high knowing I am, this.

My profound reasons to walk away from a narcissist…

Your energy is too vital. You can’t allow your misjudgments to cloud your heart with anger. You must be water flowing, shaping, molding into but not finite. The expression of love is what you should wish to breathe into this world. Especially, when dealing with someone with narcissistic tendencies. There must be a realization of they seek to leave you at the bottom of the latter. Due to their own misunderstandings linked to their disorder. It's okay, to see the obstacle and the latter and choose to walk away. Understanding, you don't have to see their angles or wait to be understood only by their dynamics.

Narcissism is the tendency of actions taught. Narcissism can be untaught but it's not your job to go around giving out life lessons. Your clear steadfast intentions and actions will speak louder than words. The next time you see the obstacle. Realize, that your chance to hold on to that power. This power within you speaks and radiates beyond all words and brings about ease.

healing
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.