Motivation logo

My Passion against The World

My True Passion

By Justin DiamondPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo of Me

A passion is defined as two things. It is defined as a strong and barely controllable emotion and an intense desire or enthusiasm for something. The passion that I have found in creating music and using my voice is a passion that I believe I will never lose. Yet society believes that a passion is only good when you are making money and a living off of it. If you're not, they say it is as useless as the garbage you throw away. That statement has hurt me the most of all the negativity I have heard in my lifetime. Yes, I admit that you should also have a job or some way of income to provide for yourself with a hobby, but everyone wants to work a job or a hobby that provides for them.

For the readers reading this, I am pretty sure you have heard the term, "sticks and stones may break my bones, but words may never hurt me." I am here to say that statement is false and that words can hurt others and degrade others of their dreams. I know this to be true not just from my experiences but from yours. For the readers reading this, I challenge you to think of the last time you were mentally hurt by someone's careless comment or opinion about your goal or dream. For some of you, you may remember just one time or multiple, but we have all dealt with this. I sadly have to say most of us deal with this from our closest family members. And I have to say the same for me. We all want the approval of our closest friends and family, but you don't always get it. The other day, I sat down and began to write my feelings about a negative comment someone made towards me and why they said it. I began to feel like I wanted to give up on my dream and passion. At that moment, I felt useless and crazy for thinking I could reach my dream. Then, it hit me brighter than the light in my room. When I usually sit down and write music, I dream of the day that I will one day inspire not myself but people through my music.

I got up, and I threw the paper in the trash immediately. I walked to my mirror and looked at myself for a good thirty seconds. I began to look at the good and value in me. I then saw that my passion defines no one but myself. It is what makes me who I am, and I should never let anyone take away my fulfillment. For all the readers listening, you all believe that your passion and dream matters. And truth be told, I let the hate get to my head, and I chose to act upon it. Now I see that writing music and making content for others brings me a sense of joy and happiness. My Grandfather once told me that the words and opinions of others only matter unless you think they matter. My Grandfather truly taught me that if you believe and have true faith you can do anything in this world. And when I write music, I can get things off my head and heart. When I write music, I can be creative. And for the readers, I want you to be inspired by my words more than anything else. What truly inspires me is to see others succeed and be inspired. This is why I believe people should support my passion.

-Thankyou Grandad, this is dedicated to you!

This is dedicated to my loving Grandfather who died in 2016. He taught me to never listen to hate and words of others but guide myself by my heart.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Justin Diamond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.