Motivation logo

My New Year's Resolution.....Sleeping

By: Avril Doucette

By Avril DoucettePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My New Year's Resolution.....Sleeping
Photo by Lux Graves on Unsplash

As a Mother, Model, Author and Businesswoman it's the one thing that is key to keeping me sane. I know in 2022.....that word isn't so familiar. But I have made Sleeping.....my New Year's Resolution. Why??? Simple. A lack of sleep can cause weight gain, premature wrinkling, irreversible brain damage, and so much more! Plus, why would I spend all that money on the luxury satin bed sheets to help keep my hair smooth and face clear? Just to not enjoy it...Since I currently have more time on my hands, I have re-decorated my room to feel more comfortable and calming. More "cozy" and relaxing to me.

In the past I had not made sleeping a huge priority in my life. I listened to others around me and "pushed" myself. I would work 17-20 hr days, crash into my bed and rest for 3-6 hrs, get up and do it again the next day. I accepted my role in the "rat race", and the hustle & grind I needed to work hard to accomplish my goals. Such an outdated mindset, we are currently living in a time where people are making $2-$3 million dollars per year, from dancing on Tiktok. My "hard-working" outdated mindset isn't working with the ease of today's society. Today in 2022...We aren't working hard, we "work smart".

So the fact I can work smart and still enjoy my sleep. I guess my biggest issue is that I didn't feel like I deserved the rest. If I worked hard enough to the point of complete exhaustion, and enough "to-do-list" items crossed off is that I would allow myself to completely rest, I would be able to sleep because I had deserved it. The toxic thinking that I had not deserved a good rest just because I haven't worked myself to complete exhaustion. The toxic mindset is what created me to have success in many areas of my life, but has also caused my body & mental health damage.

The easiest part of the resolution was making it. But when it came to take a nap because my mind or body was tired. I had to ignore the "shame and guilt", I had to actually tell myself that it was okay to "let myself rest". That I was allowed to allow my body the rest it needs to heal and recover. The hardest thing, next was the mind racing full of thoughts when I tried to sleep. That's when I discovered nature sounds and sleeping frequencies. I found these really helpful playing on my laptop and TV in my room while I napped. It kept my mind busy so I could rest.

Once the mind was convinced and the guilt and shame part was taken care of, it all became simple. It seemed like a magic code I had wanted to crack for years was figured out. My mind was in a better mental state, my body began to heal from years of punishment from extreme pushing, and I somewhat reversed age. The problems I used to spend a full day of pushing and extreme arguments turned into a quick call after a much needed nap in the afternoon. I think it's like a magical code that I somehow unraveled.

My bedroom at one point was a place where numerous electronics, books, and other distractions were put everywhere. I have created a very comfortable and relaxing place where I can sleep. I never imagined how important it was to create an environment where you were able to sleep properly. Mentally those items distracted my mind and caused my mind to think about my "to-do" lists, chores, and the next day. Never allowing myself the complete chance to unwind, to allow myself to sleep. Again, "pushing myself"......the overachiever lifestyle is always a priority instead !!

The key advice I can give is to not believe the outdated mindsets telling you to "work hard" and restless. "Rest more" and "work less"....know that everything will still be accomplished in a shorter amount of time. Learn to not have shame or guilt that you slept. Quiet your mind when you sleep with nature music. And begin to enjoy naps !! Go to bed early, have rest and recovery days ! You'll be amazed at how your life works out when you prioritize sleeping.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Avril Doucette

Model, Actress and Athlete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.