Motivation logo

My current list of all my published novels

—-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
9
My current list of all my published novels
Photo by Laura Kapfer on Unsplash

Ever since I started my writing path with Vocal, I found that organizing and keeping track of my many types of poetry, novels and short stories was a huge awakening to me. I am, by nature, a highly disorganized person. Vocal was truly my first milestone in keeping track of my writing in a way that felt more professional and personal. As I grew in my craft, I decided to use many of the stories I started on Vocal to be put on the table to be published traditionally. This venture served up quite a quandary as I found that many of these so-called publishers were vanity presses or hybrid.

Vanity publishers really are only looking out for themselves, as they make you, the author pay for all of the publishing costs. They charge thousands of dollars with hopes you'll make it big, but it's an impossible game to win. Hybrid is similar to a vanity but splits the costs. I really don't recommend either of these options.

Traditional publishers pay you. You should never have to pay a penny.

The way I see it, with or without an agent, if you scour the web and apply only for the legit publishers who say they give out traditional contracts, it's a way better option. Always read the contracts thoroughly and have others read it too, to get a second or third opinion.

It's hard work but it's worth it in the end. Trust me! I spent countless months submitting my books only to receive a rejection letter. It's all a part of the process. The right publisher will be the one who really loves your style and willing to give you a shot, no strings attached.

Anyway, I wanted to share with you all my updated list for all my current novels. I may do a separate article on my self-published works on Amazon, and my religious art platform on Patheos another day.

The first one is called I am Bexley. It has been traditionally published by Resurgence Novels. They are an online based platform that is essentially a free app you can download on your tablet or phone that holds tons of awesome stories by many different authors. Here is the link to the app. I hope you enjoy this horror/drama with a little spice of forbidden romance to top it off!

I am Bexley description (on the Resurgence Novel app)

In a world ravaged by a zombie apocalypse, humanity is under the tyrannical rule of the undead. In the year 2071, humans are forced to live in bunkers and caves while zombies, divided by class, reign supreme in human settlements.

The elite "gems" dictate the rules, and everyone follows suit.

But amidst this chaos, hope emerges in the form of Bexley, a nineteen-year-old zombie girl with a heart of gold and a sharp katana. Can she bridge the gap between the two societies and protect them from the deadly Bloodletters? Though her heart may not be beating, she has plenty of love to share!

My second traditionally published novel is The Half Paper Moon. The publisher is Golden Storyline Books.

It's available now on Amazon as a Kindle e-book and paperback. Check it out here!

Book overview (on the Amazon description page)

The Half Paper Moon is a crime drama that touches on themes that are dark, painfully sketched and yet very relatable and real. Connie Alvarez, a young college woman is still reeling from discovering that her beloved girlfriend Barbara is missing and presumed dead. Connie becomes involved in the high profile first degree murder case and as the trial commences other strange things come to light. She is also trying to piece together the timeline with the help of their mutual circus friends, and understand the scattered and broken pieces of her past.

The series of strange and odd occurrences that had happened prior to Barbara’s disappearance force her to confront the truth about her own life. Connie and the others affected by the high profile case are forced to acknowledge their own feelings of guilt, redemption and loss. This is a story about fallible human nature, the need to stand out from the crowd and how our lives are touched by the people that surround us.

I hope you have a happy and healthy New Year and start your year off reading and writing in your best form.

adviceVocalsuccessgoals
9

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Manikandan Blog Writer4 months ago

    Mam i subscribed you. Please subscribed me Mam

  • well done.

  • Well done & presented, Melissa.

  • A great summary of your work so far! I agree traditional is the way to go. You are proof that indie can be a step in that direction. You have great stories & good work!

  • I'm sooooo glad you took the time to seek out these publishers. So happy for you Merly!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Wow you have accomplished a lot ! Congrats. Very interesting info about publishing too, I know nothing of this. Happy new year! 😁

  • Matthew Fromm4 months ago

    This is a great and succinct guide, and congrats! I will need to snag some copies 👀

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Love it!!! Sending virtual hugs and positive vibes!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.