Motivation logo

My Authentic Words

The journey to finding my voice

By MooreaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
My Authentic Words
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I fell to my knees in tears as I realized that I was no longer living in a way that felt aligned with who I knew myself to be. Tears streaming over my cheeks and screams were pushed into my pillow as the feeling of loss and frustration came over me. Once calm, I take a breath filling my lungs back up with life force to catch myself from the flooding of emotion. I use all my limbs and strength to make it to my feet. I then make my way over to the mirror hung in my bedroom. Looking myself in the eye, I ask, "what do you want?" the response came so quickly to my lips as I spoke it into the universe. "To write," I responded. "To share all that I have learned and use myself in a way that feels creative and unique." At that moment of pure honesty with myself, I knew that there was work to be done. Things that had to change included a seemingly unreasonable decline of a job position that I had been offered the day before. Coming soon after was a layoff from the job I was already working. Time was no longer an obstacle as the universe showed me the way – making space to find myself. Trust was all I had at this point. Trust in me and trust in all that was happening since my declaration of wanting to write.

The following day, I woke up, knowing that I had to dedicate myself to what it was that I told myself I wanted. I walk to the kitchen to prepare myself a steaming earl gray tea with milk, and slowly approach my desk. As I sit, I take a deep inhale – one that was filled with surrender but also fragments of lingering anxiety. I let it out forcefully as I relaxed into my body. My legs crossed and laptop open – I begin. I write words of all the emotion that had been pent up. Letting it go with little resistance as if I had been working out a muscle that had always been strong but was just needing attention. Words flowed through as I felt a trance come over me. Unknowing of the words that were even coming through me. I just kept going until I no longer had anything to say.

Once my fingers were no longer tapping across the keys, I scrolled back. I smiled at the conversation that I had just had with myself. Seeing my words come to life through speech instead of intrusive thoughts. I was relieved and deeply filled with gratitude. I may not have known what would happen that morning, but I knew this wouldn't be the last time that I would commit myself to my needs and desires.

I saved the document that had just encased all my emotions and all my deepest fears. I closed the laptop with acknowledgment of my craft before getting brought back to the reality of my position. That I had no job, that right now all I had was time to share, this time was being presented as a gift. Every day after, I wrote. Writing about spirituality and experiences beyond what we may be able to control or see fully. I wrote about writing and the healing that occurs by putting our thoughts and feelings into art for others to feel. For the first time in a long time, I felt heard. I felt as if all I was keeping inside no longer had to be stuck but let free. I was no longer alone in my discoveries and was set free from the restraints I had placed upon myself. I come back to this day knowing that it was the day that changed my life. I woke up day after day following that moment with a new perspective of myself and what I could create. When I am writing is when I am authentically me. When I get to turn burning passions, overwhelming thoughts, and buried love into visible and energetically words. That is when I am the most authentic version of who I am now and who I will forever evolve to be.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Moorea

Moorea is a mentor, friend, student of life and lover of all things beautiful. For more about Moorea you can follow her on Instagram @mooreabea and visit her Website (mooreabea.com)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.