Motivation logo

Motivation To Keep You Moving During Lockdown!

With gyms closed, my motivation to work out has been low, but with routine, motivation, (and the right playlist), keeping active really can boost your mood!

By John ThackerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Motivation To Keep You Moving During Lockdown!
Photo by Maryjoy Caballero on Unsplash

When the world first came crashing to a halt back in March my routine was completely thrown out the window. I lead a relatively active lifestyle, I swim every other day, I try to go to the gym a few times a week, I do yoga, I’m generally on the go rushing from one place to the next. And suddenly, I wasn’t doing any of these things, I couldn’t swim, I couldn’t do classes at the gym, there was nowhere for me to be. I felt the effect this had on the body, initally my mood was low, my routine was thrown out of the window. Luckily I managed to figure out a way to keep my body active, moving, from my very own home, which ultimately resulted in a better mood and lots of positive endorphins without leaving my own home.

I started by doing a 30-day total body yoga course on Youtube with 'Yoga With Tim'. The videos were only around 20-30 minutes, so didn't eat into the day. I did each routine every morning before I started doing anything else that day. I didn’t have any aim or goal, but I’ve always loved that unclogged but energised feeling created in your body after yoga. After the course I kept the yoga going, I found a selection of morning yoga videos that I love to start the day with, I’ve honestly never felt so flexible, and having that moment in the morning for myself transformed my groggy lockdown mornings to having so much more motivation through the day.

After my yoga before I had a shower and freshen up to start the day, I popped on my headphones and let completely loose to my 'motivation workout' playlist. I’ve been adding to it throughout lockdown and there are twenty songs on there. It doesn’t feel like a workout when your headlining Glastonbury in your living room, and that’s the beauty of it. No gruelling reps to get through, no burpees (whoever invented burpees hates humanity and joy). Music is so powerful for your mood, for your motivation, and the right playlist can start off your day and help you get that sweat on without even trying. Here’s some songs on my playlist to get your morning pumping...

I’ve been ending my lockdown days with a workout from Joe Wicks. I did Joe’s workouts before lockdown hit and suddenly everyone was doing PE with Joe in their living room, I felt like I’d discovered something before it became a hit. There are tons of workouts on Youtube that are brilliant at murdering every muscle in your body, but leaving you feeling beach body ready until you next demolish a take-out. They are only around 20 minutes (if you can manage to get through). His energy is contagious, and what I love about Joe is that you can feel him struggling just as much as you are, so somehow you don’t feel as unfit. I with a second quick shower to wash off the inevitable heaps of sweat and can tell myself that

Having the routine that I didn’t have the start of lockdown boosted my sleep, my productivity, my fitness levels, I’ve felt like I’ve had more of a purpose during my lockdown. 2020 has been an unexpected, difficult year for a lot of us. But a big positive for me has been having time for the first time that I never had before to do all those ‘one day’ things that I always use time as excuse not to do. Keeping active, listening to music, staying busy, but also recognising toxic productivity and giving yourself a moment to not do anything.

It’s not about feeling like you should be doing something just because everyone on your timeline appears to be getting ripped, or learning a language, or writing a novel, but having small moments marked into your day where you take a moment for yourself will hopefully make this crazy year feel a little less overwhelming and create your own 'new normal'.

happiness
1

About the Creator

John Thacker

Hello...

I am a writer, actor, and singer/songwriter from Manchester, UK.

Catch up with me on the socials...

instagram.com/johnjjst

twitter.com/johnjjst

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.