Motivation logo

Motivation

How to stay motivated

By Jermaine BouyerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

By definition, motivation is the reasoning for doing something. We are motivated to work because of bills or to maintain a particular lifestyle. We are motivated to eat because we need food to function and live. We are motivated to move from spot A to spot B because something compels us to. I'd like to call those, everyday implied motivation acts of reasoning.

As we look to engage in activities outside normal routines, how do we find motivation and stay motivated? Professional athletes are motivated by money, fame, and the want to be the best. They stay motivated because they have a support system on and off the field. Also those with families probably have developed a lifestyle where they have to continue to have

a big payday.

So, the question still stands, How do we find motivation? Finding motivation is easy, staying motivated is where the struggle is. Depending on the situation, motivating factors include family, health, finances, and/or friends. Prizes are motivating factors in contests. These factors independently will be the reason, the motivation. For example, I'm a husband and a father, and my motivation to work everyday is to take care of my family. Another example; I exercise at least twice a week for two reasons: to be in shape and because there is a hereditary heart disease in my family and the doctor has told me that exercise will not stop it but will slow down the process of me getting it.

Now, sometimes one motivating factor is not enough. for every scenario, you will have at least two motivating factors that will drive you. Pull from each factor one at a time, that is how you stay motivated. Going back to my reason to exercise. Being a family person I want to be able run and play with my kids, So I exercise for them. Sometimes that reason becomes weak, so the thought of me getting the heart disease becomes a strong motivator to continue my workout plan.

The last thing to do is to have a support system. Let people around you know what your goals are. When you're at that point where you just don't feel motivated. Your support system is a good means to provide encouragement, because now the feeling of letting someone down just activated. Once that is activated, your motivation kicks in all over again.

Remember being motivated is the reason we act and motivating factors keep us acting .

Find different factors and allow all of them to keep you moving, and motivated.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Jermaine Bouyer

I'm a husband and a father of 4, 2 young adults (boy, girl) and twins (boy, girl). I spent 15 years in fitness and now I'm a part of the health care industry. Bachelor's in business, master's in psychology, and a master life coach cert.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.