Motivation logo

Motivate!

As if it Were Fate

By Richard SkeemPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Motivate!
Photo by Gene Jeter on Unsplash

It's no secret that COVID is being a huge pain in our daily lifestyles. For one, some of us haven't had the luck of being called back by our jobs to begin working again. I was that lucky, fortunately, but not before almost 3 months of hunkered down quarantine time. Nothing like being told by your job to stay home and don't come back for a couple weeks and having those weeks turn into months to completely demoralize you. With this story and playlist combined, I hope it helps you the same way my playlist helped me!

One day I told myself I needed to make a change. I knew, in order to do that, I needed a revamp of my lifestyle and to start on a workout routine. Finding motivation for doing so was an incredibly difficult thing to come by. I'd start by waking up and telling myself, "you have to do this." A load of good that did. Then I would get out of bed, grab a glass of water, and have breakfast. Bacon is a great motivator right? For working out, perhaps not so much (insert sarcastic laugh here). I figured pre-workout would be a great motivator, however, on a COVID budget, There's no way I could afford THAT type of incentive.

I was stuck! Even after searching up Youtube videos for any type of motivation, I just couldn't feel it. I looked up things like motivational speeches, workout routines, etc. I even gave Pinterest a shot! After a while I realized I was missing one incredibly important thing that was so obvious, I facepalmed after I thought about it.

Music! A playlist, of course! DUH!

I went straight to work! Given the time I had during quarantine, it wasn't difficult to quickly come up with the ultimate playlist. Now this may seem like a love letter to Spotify, but it seriously helped me out. When I started out, I remembered a song I really enjoyed by The Score called Legend and thought to myself, Oh hell yeah! that's a great song for motivation! I hopped onto Spotify on my phone, plugged in the name of the song, added it, and suddenly I'm getting all kinds of other suggestions from Spotify which was super convenient! I took this opportunity to create only the best Motivational playlist I could...with a couple guilty pleasures thrown in as well (wink). The songs I found were great! After I had my playlist completed, I had no trouble working out using all that research I did before.

Well what does all this music sound like? I'm so very glad you asked! Most of the songs on my playlist, if not all of them, stem from the alternative/indie genre. Mostly with lyrics and beats that reach your very soul and manage to..."light it up!" (<<<That's the lyrics of one of the songs!) I found great artists like Barns Courtney, The Score, Valley Of Wolves, Zayde Wolf, Sam Tinnesz, and so many more. All with the same base feel for their songs which is basically: I've got this! None can stop me! I'll be the best version of me I can be! well, that's my takeaway at least, haha. I should honestly just let the songs speak for themselves.

So here it is! 50 songs, 2 hours and 48 minutes of pure motivation to get you through any workout! Not to mention I'm adding songs every now and then. Now I honestly doubt anyone would need to be motivated for almost as long as the Avengers: Endgame movie during a single workout, but that's why this playlist feels so great to me. It has almost Endless replay ability! Lord knows we need it because of our whole COVID situation. So gear up for your workout, whether it be weight lifting, cycling, jogging, or body weight workouts, you'll feel the Rush, become a Gladiator, and make yourself a Champion!

success
1

About the Creator

Richard Skeem

Just a gamer geek who likes to think...and eat.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.