Motivation logo

Modify The Significance Of Your New Year’s Resolutions

Carpe Diem!

By TcFarrandPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
2
New Year’s Resolutions Need To Change

Were you aware that a New Year’s resolution is essentially just a statement or ambition? I have taken the time this year to alter the thoughts of resolutions. I advise you to consider doing the same.

Get An Adventure Started

This year, I am choosing to make a list of actions. But, of course, every year is different, and I’m not one to make many resolutions or one that hypothesizes whether or not those resolutions can come into existence.

Therefore, I tried something fresh. Instead of making resolutions, I will create actions where I can hold myself accountable. But you may ask how to go about this or what steps I should put down to motivate me to do the same?

Reconstruct My Brain Theory

Reconstruct Your Brain

First, before diving into creating my action-based list, I need to teach myself how to think correctly. Growing up, we are told that New Year’s resolutions would help us grow individually. And to a certain point, it does. However, again resolutions are just statements, not actions. It needed to change.

I want to reconstruct my brain to get it active to accomplish the so-called resolutions and make it a point where it will act and finish the goals. It takes a dramatic change in oneself because setting goals sometimes becomes secondary. If you don’t hit them, you can try again later. I don’t want to have that line of thinking, so it must change.

Make A Difference, Starting With Your Brain

I spent countless hours learning how to reconstruct my brain. I read many books and research reports on how one person could make such a difference in themselves, and you know what, it honestly is more demanding than some may think. We are born with repetition and habits. It’s funny how a habit can get created in mere hours, but breaking it takes much longer.

I tried many times to change my mindset, but I failed many times because of my old habits creeping back up. It was exhausting, and I am sure my family felt some of that wrath. But one day, it finally clicked.

Breaking The Habits

All the information I read and attempted to implement into my brain finally connected. I broke the habit of my previous mindset, and any time a thought crept across my mind, I would divert it to think alternatively. I learned how my mind needed more focus and refined boundaries.

Once I adapted this, my brain automatically started thinking differently. Yes, I am still human and still have many flaws and habits to break, but overall, my brain looked at things differently. Eventually, I could reconstruct my mind and focus on my intentions and actions of how I wanted to think and who I wanted to become.

Create An Action-Based List

Create Action Checklist

Next, I implemented my reconstruction process into my actions. I had to learn how to think differently about how to act differently. I focused on my brain and my daily living actions to accomplish this.

I started writing and using reminders on what I needed to change myself and accomplish my goals. Writing everything on a checklist made an enormous difference in my life. I’ve never been the same since. It’s like the theory of getting a to-do list from your boss and then crossing them out as you go down the list. You’re expected to get those jobs done, and if you don’t, there are repercussions.

Live Up To Your Words

“If your actions don’t live up to your words, you have nothing to say.”

DaShanne Stokes

The same thing goes for actions. If I’m going to change my statements into actual actions, I need to hold myself accountable and perform them. Therefore, I created a checklist of things to do every day and crossed them out as I accomplished them.

It Takes Dedication And Work

Yes, there were many times that the items were to do’s that did not get accomplished, but that goes into the same aspects as breaking habits. We all have tools and resources available to hold ourselves accountable and make ourselves better people with actions instead of just thoughts.

For example, I wrote on a checklist that I needed to write a few stories a week and publish them somewhere. At first, it was distracted because I had other daily duties that required finishing, but once I did a story and published it, I felt motivated to do the next ones.

Creative Concepts

Once I got through an entire week of creating different stories and publishing them, I knew that putting action to be more consistent in this area was achievable. So the best idea for my New Year’s effort is to create a list that I have to follow through with to be the person I want to be.

Now you may ask what actions you could put down on these lists. The steps can be like resolutions; only the difference is your time. You want to make your actions focused on time management. Just like with a job, you’re expected to have specific tasks done throughout the day, and you allot a particular amount of time to do them to finish up the day. The checklist needs to be the same way.

Are You Focused?

Here are a few examples of actions that you can write on your checklist:

* Getting in nature once a week.

* Host a monthly event for your friends and family.

* Created an exercise program that will force you to exercise for 15 to 20 minutes a day.

Exercise Daily!

* Make new friends.

* Read often or at least a book a week.

* Take an hour every day to play with your kids.

* Create a new business or find alternate sources of income.

Music Is A Part Of Life

* Listen to more unknown music artists.

* Try a different recipe every week.

Create Healthier Meals

You can add many actions to your checklist based on time management. Then, when you cross off these actions, you automatically start implementing them in your life, becoming the excellent habits you want. Yes, they may seem like resolutions or statements, but if you make them official actions and holders accountable to do them on a timescale, your actions become realistic.

Follow Through and Perform My Actions

Stop Making Excuses and Start Getting Results

Now that you’ve altered your mindset, the step is up to you to perform your actions. For me, following through and completing the activities that I wrote, I needed to manage myself, and I had to have repercussions if I didn’t follow through with my actions.

Are You Reading?

For example, I told myself that I needed to read a book every week. If I failed one week, I would force myself to read to the following. It actually can stack up if you procrastinate or put off your actions.

The same thing can go for your exercise goals. If you miss one day’s worth of 30 minutes, you might need to have the repercussion be to do it for an hour the following. When your body and your brain recognize that there will be repercussions for not following through with your lists, you’re going to change it because you don’t want the repercussions.

Positive Thoughts Will Become The New Habits

It is another reason you need to make your action-based list more reasonable. It’s best to start with more minor actions to get yourself used to the checklist, and then once you get used to marking the index off and having to deal with the repercussions, you can then move on to more significant actions that affect your surroundings in your life.

One idea that I created a few stories that were sitting on the back burner. I told myself that I needed to submit a report at least once a week, and if I didn’t, I would have to write two the following week. So let’s say I could submit a few stories within the first couple of weeks because it motivated me. But there was one week that I missed because I was too busy “my excuse” to finish it.

Allow Flexibility, But Still Make Moves

The following week came, and as I looked down on my action list, I realized I hadn’t finished the story from the previous week. Well, I flooded my week with work and home life, and when I had to sit myself down to create two reports instead of just one, I had to sacrifice some time and energy that I could’ve used elsewhere.

I learned from that rather quickly and chose not to make the same mistake again; now, not everybody will be the same. Some people might put it off and put it off and not think twice about it.

Go Above And Beyond For Yourself, It's Your Life

Because I’ve already reconstructed my mind to do and act upon being better, the actions are now a part of my core. So I had to learn to follow through with my action list to accomplish it and be successful in my overall goals.

New Year’s Resolutions Are Gone, and My Actions Become Real

New Year’s resolutions are a system to give individuals false hope. Now many people may disagree with that statement. However, what’s the point when an individual throws out a resolution and never follows through with it? It has no significance anymore.

Toss Out Old Statements And Make New Actions

We need to alter the way New Year’s resolutions are portrayed and turn them into official actions. Then, we as individuals in society can act upon actions instead of just hoping. I have reflected on myself and changed my mindset and actual efforts myself. I gave myself a clean slate and created a healthier lifestyle that would fit and help those around me. I trained myself to let go of New Year’s resolutions and insight actions as reality.

I suggest anyone who has goals and resolutions consider turning them into action that has repercussions if they’re not accomplished; you will start seeing the benefits of accountability, responsibility, and respectability because you did the activities and not just made the statement.

New Year, New Actions, New You!

Therefore, I have decided to make my New Year’s resolution into actions this year. Do you think you can do the same? If you modify the significance of your new year’s resolutions, you will make habits to turn into actions.

goals
2

About the Creator

TcFarrand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.