Motivation logo

Mindful Dreams

by Cerina Galvan

By Cerina GalvanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Mindful Dreams
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

When I was young all I really wanted was to know who I was and be recognized for the task I would take on to become someone recognizable to the world. Little did I know that task would be a whirlwind of ups and downs that I would learn from. It all started with basketball, one dribble at a time, one shot in the hoop just to make me feel like I could accomplish a job given to me. A job that I believed was my god given right since I grew to love it. However, just because you love something doesn’t always mean it’s for you. This is what I had to learn early on. Some dreams aren’t meant for you and that is something I had to learn to be okay with the hard way. However, I didn’t learn this for a while and didn’t realize I was learning it up until I had a moment of severe discipline as I would like to recall. That story is for later on in this entry. Basketball on a team in. a college disciplined scenario was a lot harder than I thought. Despite the ongoing athletic training I had to undergo and the endless hell week of testing my abilities giving it my all. I didn’t make the team and my heart was shattered. I felt like I could at least be a substitute for the team but even the coach told me you just don’t have the skills to play and that hurt like nothing I’ve ever experienced in life. Although, I had to move on my big heart couldn’t settle for something complacent, it had to be something amazing, something that could change me forever and it did. I decided to take on theatre arts and what a journey that would become.

But the biggest journey came right around the last play I did called the Lillie’s of the Field. I decided to give myself a break from that world as I was taken into negative spaces of not being able to be everything I needed to be in that role. Of not capturing every last bit of who was needed to fit that role of a nun. I had recently taken on a task of stage manager and the belief in me again started to tank as my authority figures didn’t believe I was doing all that was required of me and my impulsivities of the fear of rejection got the best of me. I was more than a girl with big dreams I was one with psychological problems I had not yet explored, and I didn’t know I needed that kind of therapeutic treatment up until my psychotic break. When I was in a negative head space, I was not a reasonable and pleasant person and I had become a monster. Taking the unconscious instability along with me into my next venture I had become somewhat psychotic after once again I was told I wasn’t giving enough to my project or job. This time it was at a camp for the disabled and I enjoyed making a difference in someone’s life. However, the authorities felt I wasn’t giving enough diligent work to the campers and the duties asked of me. I couldn’t help but go into a fantasy of the psych that allowed me to reach a level of non-reality. They call this schizophrenia. You see, I went into a state where my unconscious mind stored everything I ever went to and made up this delusion about myself and who I’m supposed to be as I recently stated I sought to be powerful and becoming. However, I believe now after my delusion that this was a huge lesson in being disciplined with myself and going through the motions of dealing with negativity.

self help
2

About the Creator

Cerina Galvan

I’m an active writer who dreams of writing tales that inspire people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    it's written skillfully and offers great information.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.