Motivation logo

Martial Arts: Finding Silence Within

Comfort within Chaos

By Dylan PPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Buakaw Banchamek: Muay Thai Legend

When we conjure the notion of creating inner peace, often we associate it with silence, with quiet activities, with rest. In some ways it is true; writing, knitting, sitting down to meditate, or taking an easy stroll are excellent ways to bring ease into our lives. I am presenting a different method of mine to create silence within me- Martial Arts.

I’m not talking about the soft flowing martial arts like aikido, or wing chun. I am talking about the ones that do not look peaceful, and are more brutal. Particularly Muay Thai, and western boxing- but also wrestling, and Brazilian jiu-jitsu. Somehow when I am immersed in this tribe of people, slamming the pads, or sparring with another human being, my overwhelmed mind dissolves into the moment, and I become nothing but the experience.

I love activities that are tranquil, I do. Yet, sometimes it seems that my mind and inner being are so entrenched with thought and activity that relaxing is impossible unless I am fully engaged in a difficult physical puzzle. Muay Thai has origin in Thailand, (which may go without saying) and is otherwise known as Thai boxing. In this art, we emphasize a lot of kicks; to the leg, body, and head. When you kick someone with anything other than a front kick, you are to use your shin, not the foot. The foot is soft and fragile, while the shin acts like a baseball bat. We also emphasize boxing strikes, elbows, knees, and something called the clinch. In the clinch we attempt to control the head and neck of the opponent, either to drop them on their ass, or punish them with knees and elbows.

In truth, I am not much of a fighter. I don’t even currently compete; but in training this way I find silence within. I have searched far and wide for what can help me. I don’t want to be medicated. Dealing with anxiety, self doubt, and obsessive thoughts takes a toll on your psyche and your life. Making wise decisions becomes difficult when it is so hard to think clearly. Reading, learning psychology, spiritual techniques, and learning to be with myself have been excellent helpers. But in some ways it seems like martial arts has been my consistent way of channeling the silence I actually need. It gives me the freedom to be a student, a teacher, and a tribe member. It gives me the freedom to express my physical body, to exhaust myself, and to immerse myself in the moment without thought of the next hour.

One thing that I love about fighting arts is that it has to be practiced to be understood. It reminds me of surfing, another activity I love. It has to be felt, practiced, and understood- you can’t read it in a book. Of course you can read about techniques, the sport history, and some things that might help you for getting started; but you can’t read about how it feels to get punched in the face and stay calm. You can’t read about getting slammed by a heavy wave when you’re surfing. It must be felt; it must be embodied.

If you are struggling with your inner peace, and quiet techniques are not working, I suggest putting some gloves on and heading to a local MMA gym. What you’ll find is a combination of technique, fitness, camaraderie, and toughness. Somehow within this strange place you will find intelligence and instinct married to one another, and in that space, you’ll find peace.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Dylan P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.