Motivation logo

Make the most of life

Have no Regrets

By Michelle KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been in health care since I was 16 years old. I started off as a carer for the elderly then trained to be a nurse. My first post was on ward 13 at the Victoria Hospital the main acute hospital for Fife. The ward was the Medical Assessment unit for the elderly, it was basically like an intensive care unit. I have always worked with the elderly I enjoyed caring for them and listening to their stories of old times, the war and their journey through life. One thing that has entered my head though is that the most common theme the elderly talk about when they are nearing end of life is regret. I have lost count how many times I have heard tears of sorrow because of regrets that people hold onto. Hear me when I say this because it is important, regret will eat away at you and it will affect you when you are older so don't waste time, go out and do everything you have always wanted to because I have found a lot of poeple pondering over their regrets and it sad to see. The look in their eyes say it all hence why I made the decision to make a bucket list so I don't have any regrets when I am older. Everyone will have regrets that is life but the nature of those regrets will change it is the big things for example not leaving an abusive relationship, not making amends with people, not visiting that country you always wanted to anything you feel you may regret eliminate it. I want my older years to be as stress free as possible and that is why I am eliminating anything that may cause me regret. Watching these older patients open up about their regrets especially when it is a common theme amongst all has taught me a valuable lesson in life and one that I try pass onto other people, but only because I know first hand what regret actually does to people when they are reaching that point in their life. Regret seems to consume people with negative consequences, depression, anxiety and guilt are all included with the feeling of regret especially if it ws something they really wanted to do or say but didn't get the chance to. This is my worst fear to be honest, I do not want to be in my nursing home thinking about all the things I should have said or should have done, I want to be in my nursing home feeling content and die content. So please everyone it's your life go out and live your life to the full, do all the things you want to do, make up with people even if you don't want to as that can possibly be a regret when you are older. When people reach that point its like something hits them and they just know they will never have a chance again to do the things they wanted to. Then the depression comes and it can spiral out of control that is why eliminating regret as much as possible will give you a more settled life when that time comes for you. Believe in yourself and go live life to the full, remember no regrest equals contentment, I know first hand I have seen what regret does to hundreds upon hundreds of people maybe thousands. No one wants to get to that point and start to reflect on life and feel bad about it you want to feel blessed that you had the opportunity to experience life. Life is a gift that is why it is called the present, look after yourself and live life to the fullest. Peace!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Michelle King

I write from the heart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.