Motivation logo

Lupus Awareness & ME!

Will I LIVE?

By Chi OriPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
LUPUS Ruff/Stuff!

Hi my name is Kathy B. and I will be your Lupus Ambassador telling some of my experiences with Lupus. My struggles with Lupus, in the beginning, kept me going in & out of the ER, with many complications mostly from being in pain!

Trying to understand what’s happen to my body and why?

Because, little did I know...LUPUS was dormant in my

body for 50 long years...going undetected.

Until, I collapsed in the bedroom & was brought to Emergency room. Where they admitted me and kept me there for 2 weeks, taking blood from me and running medical tests.

Leaving most of my family members worried and concerned about my well-being.

Later on, I was told by the Doctor, I had developed Lupus at age 53, which unfortunately it was dominant in my body. This was really the first time I had heard about Lupus and really did not have any idea of how severe or intense this disease could be. Hear say I heard the singer "Toni Braxton and Nick Cannon had Lupus", but there rich people. I on the other hand had no medical coverage at 53 and was really in bad shape laying their in the hospital bed.

More things slowly started to happen to my body. Such as:

Being diagnosed with full-blown Lupus and having to remove a limp node from inside my body, which was causing me great pain and suffering internally. That node appeared to be the size of a golf ball. I thought if was Cancer, but when the test results came back "benign", my entire family was relieved.

Unfortunately, things kept getting worse for me every step of the way. For me Lupus was my worse nightmare, that I feared, but I knew this was something I had to overcome. Then, I lose my hearing and couldn't hear the phone dial tone on one side. I kept telling the nurse the phone in my room is not working and she kept bringing me a new phone. LOL Until, my son came to visit and asked me why I didn't answer phone? When he picked it up the dial tone was loud and clear! Sending a new medical code out about impaired hearing loss. Leaving me discombobulated, confused and disconcerted, once again.

Basically, having to re-train myself to balance again, hold item study (ex. Tea Cups, Glasses, stand in place, without falling over, and maneuver how to ride a bicycle and later even drive my own car! These are some of the things on how Lupus affected me. My hair dropped out somewhat, because of the hair Lye in products; along with the high dosage of "Prednisone" medication I was taking. Then, I started to get attached internally with my organs such as Kidney and Liver unbalanced.

I was never a person who liked drinking, because of being raised by alcoholic and women that smoked (2 pack a day of cigarettes). So, along with the gross smells from cigarettes at home and the disgusting smell of alcohol on her body and breath, put a very nasty, and bitter taste in my mouth and soul.

This is why I resonate so deeply with this condition and disease.

Quote by: Kathy B. Hall

"All lives matter and are too short not to appreciate each other's differences and needs to learn from each other in a positive way. Therefore, we can strive to make a difference to assist women/man-kind with or without any disabilities and judgment; are much needed today!"

So, let’s keep on "Building A Better YOU and Healthy Communities."

Copyright April 2016

Let me be an inspiration to you and your loved ones and the wellness of the community 2021.

May is "LUPUS AWARENESS MONTH" that I am proud to support and bring these stories to my loving audience.

Chi Ori

healing
Like

About the Creator

Chi Ori

Chi Ori an AWR Host on WAV55 & Diversity Awareness Stories. Her popular “ Pod Cast on Anchor.FM

Favorites: I'm N LovE...Tell Me My Fortune!

Click

anchor.fm/chiori2/episodes/Im-In-LOVE---TELL-ME-MY-FORTUNE--Live-True-Story--SAY-WHAT-esqjln

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.