Motivation logo

Louboutins to Hiking Boots

In all things of nature, there is something of the marvelous -Aristotle

By Queen with a Crooked Crown Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Peace

No statement is truer, you just need to be still

I had been thinking about writing my experience in the woods, because I already knew I would be slaying yet another fear with the marvels of nature. Sleeping alone in the woods exposed in a fishbowl container, ok it’s not a fishbowl but let’s be clear with the shades up you’re exposed, but in the most magnificent way. The squirrels and I were divided only by the glass, the snow falling looked as if it was blanketing me, it was almost like a 3D feeling within two windowed walls. I cried on the way here, I cried when I parked and I cried when I entered the door, the emotion I felt, was joined with my chipmunk cheek smile that I am here. Not just here in this location, but I am here, I am alive, and I am doing yet another thing I never imagined, I was a city girl, and the woods were not for me, yet I climbed a mountain and now I’m sleeping in a container “Naked and Afraid”, not naked, not afraid but it became a family joke.

While I was facing demons of past like the badass warrior I am, I changed, I changed to someone else, someone I was always supposed to be. While working through PTSD I have had much time to learn what it is that I like, not what I thought I should like, I started to realize I love nature, I now feel a deep connection that fills my spirit.

I have been wanting to go camping, I have no idea why, but I did, but no one wanted to go. A sucker for a pop up adds for travel I was intrigued with this “Getaway House”, I researched locations and booked it! Packing was easy, they supply everything, I don’t even need the extra blanket I brought, the firewood bundles were waiting for my first try to start a fire, I am happy to report that it was a success and I have video evidence, full disclosure, I used a fire starter, that still counts right?

People are in other “containers”, but you don’t really see them unless out on the same trail, it’s almost like a woodland fairy village which is appropriate as that is how I feel, like a fairy. The towels were soft, the shower was hot and really all I needed was my laptop, cozy clothes, provisions I would want to eat and tons of tea. Oh, I also brought a little French press to have fresh coffee in the morning however they do supply instant, however I must draw the line somewhere.

To sum up my latest adventure of self-discovery, it was a great success however it’s my last night so hopefully I am not murdered, or this story would suck, and I wouldn’t be able to visit all the other ones on their list. If you are a non-camper in need of escapism, I highly suggest this as a start as maybe you will find the person you have lost along the way, yourself. If you are a camper and want to step it up a notch and try something ridiculously cool, the time is now because I predict they will be booked well in advance, in fact I’m going to book another one right after I hit submit.

Queen with a Crooked Crown - in hiking boots

@Queen_with_a_Crooked_Crown

Tiktok.com/@queencrooked_crown

queenwithacrookedcrown.wordpress.com

self help
Like

About the Creator

Queen with a Crooked Crown

Memories that both haunted and hunted catapulted me to this very moment and to reclaim my life.

My mind no longer my compass, a devils whispered directions no longer requested. I deny them with my hearts truth.

@Queen_with_a_Crooked_Crown

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.