Motivation logo

Lost and Found: Surviving the Grip of Addiction

My Journey Through Addiction

By Mardani SaputraPublished 14 days ago 6 min read

Looking back now, it's hard to pinpoint the exact moment when things started to go wrong. I guess it all began in high school, like so many stories do. My name is Alex, and I used to be your average kid. I played basketball, did okay in school, and had a solid group of friends. But things changed, and not in a good way.

It was my junior year when I first tried weed. It seemed harmless enough at the time. Everyone was doing it, and it felt like a rite of passage. My best friend, Mike, had gotten his hands on some, and one night after a basketball game, we decided to give it a shot. I remember feeling a mix of excitement and nerves, but the buzz was nice. It made me feel relaxed, carefree. It felt like a break from the pressures of school, sports, and figuring out what I wanted to do with my life.

From that night on, smoking weed became a regular thing. It started as a weekend habit, something to do at parties or when we were just hanging out. But soon enough, it crept into my weekdays. I’d light up before school, during lunch, and right after basketball practice. It didn’t seem like a big deal at first. In fact, it made everything more fun, more bearable.

But things began to shift in ways I didn’t fully grasp at the time. My grades started slipping. I missed a few practices, then a few games. My coach pulled me aside one day and asked what was going on. I shrugged it off, told him I was just tired, had a lot on my plate. He didn’t buy it, but he let it slide, hoping I’d snap out of it.

By the time senior year rolled around, weed wasn’t cutting it anymore. It wasn’t enough to chase away the stress, the pressure. That’s when Mike introduced me to something stronger – pills. At first, it was just a couple of painkillers he’d swiped from his mom’s medicine cabinet. They made me feel invincible, like nothing in the world could touch me. It was the escape I’d been looking for.

Pills quickly became my new crutch. I’d pop one before exams, before games, before anything that made me feel anxious or overwhelmed. It didn’t take long for my performance on the court to suffer. I wasn’t as quick, as focused. My coach noticed, my teammates noticed, but I didn’t care. I was too wrapped up in that numbing haze to see the damage I was doing.

Graduation came and went in a blur. I barely made it through, scraping by with the lowest grades I’d ever had. College wasn’t an option anymore. My dreams of playing basketball at a higher level evaporated. My parents were worried, but I assured them I had a plan. I didn’t, of course, but I needed them off my back.

After high school, things spiraled even further. Without the structure of school and sports, I had more free time than I knew what to do with. I started hanging out with a rougher crowd, people who didn’t care about their futures, who only lived for the next high. That’s when I was introduced to harder drugs – cocaine, meth, anything that would take me higher, further away from the reality I was trying so desperately to escape.

I got a job at a local grocery store, but it didn’t last long. I was late more often than not, and when I did show up, I was usually high. I got fired within a few months. My parents were furious, but more than that, they were scared. They could see the changes in me – the weight loss, the erratic behavior, the anger that flared up over the smallest things. They tried to help, but I pushed them away. I didn’t want their help; I wanted my next fix.

Money became a problem quickly. Drugs aren’t cheap, and without a steady job, I had to get creative. I started stealing from my parents, pawning anything of value I could find. When that wasn’t enough, I turned to petty crime – shoplifting, breaking into cars. It was risky, and I got caught more than once. Each time, I promised myself I’d stop, that I’d get clean. But the cravings were too strong. They controlled me, dictated my every move.

I lost Mike along the way. He saw the path I was heading down and decided he didn’t want any part of it. We had a massive blowout one night, and he walked away, telling me I needed to get my act together before it was too late. I laughed it off at the time, but deep down, I knew he was right. Losing my best friend should have been a wake-up call, but instead, it pushed me deeper into my addiction.

The lowest point came about two years after graduation. By then, I was living in a run-down apartment with a few other addicts. We scraped by, pooling our money and resources to get our next fix. One night, after a particularly heavy binge, I overdosed. I don’t remember much about that night, just bits and pieces. The blaring sirens, the paramedics’ frantic voices, the cold, sterile smell of the hospital.

I woke up in a hospital bed, hooked up to machines, my parents sitting beside me, looking older and more worn out than I’d ever seen them. Seeing the pain in their eyes broke something inside me. I had put them through so much, and for what? A fleeting high, an escape that never lasted.

The doctors told me I was lucky to be alive. If I’d been found any later, I wouldn’t have made it. That was the moment I realized I couldn’t keep living like this. I had to change, for myself and for the people who still cared about me, despite everything I’d done.

Rehab was tough. It was the hardest thing I’d ever done. Detoxing, facing my demons head-on, was excruciating. But I stuck with it, driven by the desire to reclaim my life, to be the person I once was. I attended therapy sessions, joined support groups, and slowly started to piece my life back together.

It’s been five years since that night, and I’m proud to say I’ve been clean ever since. It hasn’t been easy. There are days when the cravings are overwhelming, when the temptation to slip back into old habits is strong. But I’ve learned to find strength in the people who love me, in the support system I’ve built.

I got a job at a local community center, working with at-risk youth, sharing my story in the hopes that it might steer them away from the path I took. It’s fulfilling work, and it keeps me grounded. I’ve reconnected with Mike, and while our friendship isn’t the same as it once was, we’re working on rebuilding it.

My relationship with my parents has improved, too. They never gave up on me, even when I had given up on myself. Their unwavering support has been a lifeline, and I’m forever grateful for their love and patience.

Reflecting on my journey, I realize how close I came to losing everything. Drugs took me to the darkest places I’d ever been, but they also showed me the strength I didn’t know I had. I’m not proud of the choices I made, but I’m proud of the person I’ve become.

Life isn’t perfect, and it never will be. But I’m okay with that. I’ve learned to find joy in the small things, to appreciate the moments of clarity and peace. I’m building a future for myself, one day at a time, and I’m determined to make the most of this second chance.

If there’s one thing I hope people take away from my story, it’s that it’s never too late to change. No matter how far down you’ve fallen, there’s always a way back up. It won’t be easy, and it won’t happen overnight, but with determination, support, and a lot of hard work, it’s possible.

I’m living proof of that.

self help

About the Creator

Mardani Saputra

I am an emerging writer passionate about storytelling and exploring new ideas through the written word. While still at the beginning of my writing journey, I have a keen interest in fiction, personal essays, and poetry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mardani SaputraWritten by Mardani Saputra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.