Motivation logo

Live More, Love Harder

What do you love?

By Vala RogersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
#HAPPYWALL

They say that love is what makes the world go 'round. It's what motivates us and gives us purpose. We need love to thrive, it's a natural instinct. Places, people, hobbies, items, there are so many things that we all love. What do you love? What places, people, things, hobbies, etc. give you joy? What does love mean to you? In this challenge I will be showing you a picture, video, and social media account that I love. I hope that it can spread some love and joy to you as well, maybe you will learn to love these three things as much as I do.

This picture was sent to me by one of my best friends, you can follow him on instagram @derrickthibault . Derrick moved to another province two years ago, and naturally, we contact each other a lot less. The #HAPPYWALL allows you to touch the squares to light them up, making it a tourist attraction that you can interact with to make basic designs or messages. He got off his train at the wrong stop when he saw it because he thought of me, he wanted to show that he cares despite how little we may talk nowadays. The rainbow in it was a special feature for pride month, which was something very important to us both. We initially befriended each other over our excitement in my nomination for an award for activism within the LGBTQ+ community. The first time we actually hung out was at a pride event, so I guess you could say this is part of the foundation of how we became friends. This picture being sent to me meant so much, the fact that I am loved enough for someone to do this out of spontaneity warms my heart. It goes to show that love knows no distance, and the importance of friendship.

I am picking the social media account I listed above of my friend Derrick as the social media account that gives me joy. Derrick is passionate about makeup and social justice, as outlined in his account. To him, makeup is about beauty and expression, with the belief that everyone is beautiful, and that makeup can help them see it on the outside. He talks often about the importance of equality within all genders, sexual orientation, races, etc. The whole time I've been friends with him these have been important to him, and he has made so much progress in developing his makeup skills. Derrick has received attention from some of his inspirations through this account, including drag queens and beauty gurus. Derrick has also built a significant following that keeps on growing. I love this account because I love to see my friends experience growth and success.

My grandma showed me this video years ago, and I've loved it ever since. The video follows two men who purchased a lion as a pet who surrendered him to a rehabilitative sanctuary once he grew to be too big for their home. The men were determined to visit Christian despite being told it was pointless and there was no way Christian would remember them. They decided to go see him anyways, despite what they were told. Christian recognized them and ran to give them hugs and kisses. To me this video goes to show the amount of love a wild animal can feel, how emotional these beings truly are. It also goes to show that if a bond is strong enough, no amount of time will break it. There is also a full documentary on Christian titled "A lion called Christian" which is available for free on youtube.

I hope that the things I love can bring you joy as well. I hope you feel inspired by Derrick's creativity, I hope you feel liberated despite any minority group you may be a part of, I hope you tell someone you love them, and I hope you follow your heart. I hope you enjoyed this, and please remember to love more, love harder.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Vala Rogers

I am 22, a writer, an animal lover, and a rehab facilitator for people with brain injuries. I'm vegan and aim to do whatever I can to make the world a better place, follow me on instagram @valarogers and on tumblr humanityhippies.tumblr.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.